Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

When the Lion Feeds Wilbur Smith

When the Lion Feeds By Wilbur Smith

When the Lion Feeds by Wilbur Smith

New RRP £10.99
Condition - Very Good
6 in stock


Heirs to their father's fortune, destiny divides the boys from the start - Garrick is eager to stay indoors with a book and escape the hardships of cattle-rearing, while Sean, strong and much-loved, wants to try his hand at everything. But will Sean's adventures really be his making - and at what ultimate cost .

When the Lion Feeds Summary

When the Lion Feeds: The Courtney Series 1 by Wilbur Smith

BOOK 1 IN THE EPIC HISTORICAL SAGA OF THE COURTNEY FAMILY, FROM INTERNATIONAL SENSATION WILBUR SMITH 'Takes you on an exciting, taut and thrilling journey you will never forget' - Sun 'With Wilbur Smith the action is never further than the turn of a page' - Independent 'No one does adventure quite like Wilbur Smith' - Daily Mirror BROTHERS BY BIRTH. ENEMIES UNTIL DEATH. Heirs to their father's fortune, destiny divides the Courtney twins from the start. Sean Courtney is strong, determined and adventurous, while Garrick Courtney is eager to stay indoors with a book and escape the hardships of cattle-rearing on the family farm. Following in his adored father's footsteps, Sean Courtney's adventures will take him from the violence of the Zulu wars to the thrilling highs of the gold rush, leaving behind countless broken hearts. Garrick Courtney, left to manage the farm he loathes, wishes only for a quiet life. Happiness seems within his grasp with the beautiful Anna Van Essen, one of the broken-hearted women Sean left in his wake, but he is devastated when tragedy strikes once more. As both brothers seek to realise their destinies, they find their paths must once again cross in a bitter showdown. Can either brother thrive while the other still lives? When the Lion Feeds is the iconic debut novel from Wilbur Smith, one of the best and most beloved authors of the century. Book 2 in the Courtney series, The Sound of Thunder, is available now.

About Wilbur Smith

Wilbur Smith was born in Central Africa in 1933. He became a full-time writer in 1964 following the success of When the Lion Feeds, and has since published over fifty global bestsellers, including the Courtney Series, the Ballantyne Series, the Egyptian Series, the Hector Cross Series and many successful standalone novels, all meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. An international phenomenon, his readership built up over fifty-five years of writing, establishing him as one of the most successful and impressive brand authors in the world. The establishment of the Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation in 2015 cemented Wilbur's passion for empowering writers, promoting literacy and advancing adventure writing as a genre. The foundation's flagship programme is the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize. Wilbur Smith passed away peacefully at home in 2021 with his wife, Niso, by his side, leaving behind him a rich treasure trove of novels and stories that will delight readers for years to come. For all the latest information on Wilbur Smith's writing visit or

Additional information

When the Lion Feeds: The Courtney Series 1 by Wilbur Smith
Used - Very Good
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - When the Lion Feeds