Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

Poster Girl Veronica Roth

Poster Girl By Veronica Roth

Poster Girl by Veronica Roth


£6.20
New RRP £9.99
Condition - Very Good
Only 3 left

Summary

For fans of Anthony Marra and Lauren Beukes, #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth delivers a haunting dystopian mystery that explores the expanding role of surveillance on society via one woman who benefited as a child from an oppressive regime as her eyes are opened to the abuses her family, friends, and community perpetrated.

Poster Girl Summary

Poster Girl: From Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of Chosen Ones by Veronica Roth

A fallen regime. A missing child. A chance at freedom.

Ten years ago, Sonya was the face of an oppressive regime. Then it was toppled by rebels and she was thrown into prison - where she has been locked up ever since.

When an old enemy comes to her with a deal, it seems too good to be true: find a missing girl who was stolen from her parents, and earn her freedom.

But as Sonya hunts for the child, she is forced to dig deeper into the past - and her family's dark secrets - than she ever bargained for . . .

Praise for Veronica Roth

'Poster Girl cements Veronica Roth's status as a superstar' Gregg Hurwitz, #1 International bestselling author of the Orphan X series

'Veronica Roth's latest outing will draw you into its broken world, and make you think more deeply of our own' Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of Girl, Forgotten'Roth weaves a tale of redemption and regret that kept me riveted and guessing until the last page' Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of Wool and Across the Sand

'Veronica Roth is the cure for all those humdrum 'one true saviour' narratives' Charlie Jane Anders, Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of THE CITY IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, on CHOSEN ONES

'Roth has pulled off a virtuoso performance'
Blake Crouch, bestselling author of DARK MATTER and RECURSION on CHOSEN ONES

'Roth somehow manages to make universe-building look easy' Charles Yu, bestselling author of INTERIOR CHINATOWN on CHOSEN ONES

Poster Girl Reviews

Highly recommended for readers of dystopian fiction, lovers of Philip K. Dick's thought-police science fiction, and anyone who wants to see how far If you see something, say something can be led astray * Library Journal, starred review *
Poster Girl is a captivating story full of twists and turns-and no easy answers. Veronica Roth's latest outing will draw you into its broken world, and make you think more deeply of our own. I couldn't put it down * Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of Girl, Forgotten *
Roth weaves a tale of redemption and regret that kept me riveted and guessing until the last page * Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of Wool and Across the Sand *
Veronica Roth's Poster Girl is a carbonated noir, a thrilling dystopian page turner, and a novel that pushes at the ideas of justice and compliance. Poster Girl is a rare book that is deeply entertaining while making readers consider deep moral issues * Megan Giddings, author of Lakewood and The Women Could Fly *
Someone is always watching, private secrets breed public power, and polite behavior and careful thoughts will not be enough to save everyone from their complicity. This is a smart, propulsive thriller set in a cleverly constructed world, full of tough questions I won't soon forget * Matt Bell, author of Appleseed *
This is a story of deep complexity, full of love and loss and hard-won hope * Marissa Levien, author of The World Gives Way *
An intelligent, raw, emotional dystopian thriller that asks deep questions about human nature, society, and freedom. With searing prose, deft world building, and a layered, propulsive plot that will keep you turning the pages, the supremely talented Veronica Roth is at the top of her game in Poster Girl. Don't miss this! * Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six *
Poster Girl cements Veronica Roth's status as a superstar. It's not just her prose, lyrical and precise. Not just her characters, complex and enchanting. It's that she manages to keep her feet planted in the thunderous present while setting her narrative gaze on a looming Orwellian future. Not a word of this fine novel is dogmatic or reductive as Sonja Kantor, onetime true believer, peels back the pristine facade of her life's ideology to reveal the churning human chaos beneath. Her story is timeless in all the best ways, as contoured and mysterious as the poster girl herself * Gregg Hurwitz, #1 International bestselling author of the Orphan X series *
Roth isn't interested in easy victories or happily-ever-afters. Instead, Sonya grapples with the inevitable failure of even the most optimistic governments, the risk that exciting and helpful new technologies can be used for evil, and the responsibility she still bears for who she was and what she did during the Delegation's heyday. The novel manages to be an elegant social commentary without resorting to preachiness, and even the most cynical readers will be as surprised as Sonya when they reach Roth's big reveals about the depths of the Delegation's depravity. A wonderfully complex and nuanced book * Kirkus Reviews (starred review) *
It's an unflinching look at the dangers of spyware and propaganda through a dystopian lens. * Stylist *
Remember the Divergent series? My teenage self definitely does. If you do too, then get excited, because the author is back with a brand new (and much more grown up) speculative fiction mystery about a dystopian world under constant surveillance. * Cosmopolitan *
Exciting and thought provoking * Peterborough Telegraph *
A classy, pleasingly self-contained mystery that scores all the right points * SFX Magazine *

About Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth is the New York Times best-selling author of Chosen Ones, the short story collection The End and Other Beginnings, the Divergent series, and the Carve the Mark duology. She is also the guest editor of the most recent The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy. She lives in Chicago, Illinois.

Additional information

GOR013364135
9781529331028
1529331021
Poster Girl: From Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of Chosen Ones by Veronica Roth
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
20231115
288
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Poster Girl