Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

Uranians Theodore Mccombs

Uranians By Theodore Mccombs

Uranians by Theodore Mccombs


£12.00
New RRP £25.00
Condition - Very Good
Only 1 left

Uranians Summary

Uranians: Stories by Theodore Mccombs

I have been waiting for this sumptuous, prismatic collection for literal years. Theodore McCombs is a poet of queer pasts, presents, and futures, and Uranians is a formidable debut. -Carmen Maria Machado, author of Her Body and Other Parties For readers of Ted Chiang and Karen Russell, a genre-defying debut story collection that explores the essential role of queerness in this and every other possible world. At the end of the Victorian era, a handful of forward-thinking public intellectuals advocated for societal tolerance of the Uranian-a man who loved other men-wondering if these intermediate sexes might in fact constitute totally different beings, even hopeful guides toward the future. The six stories in Theodore McComb's kaleidoscopic debut span several possible worlds, teasing the boundaries between coexisting realities and taking up the question of queer difference from one surprising vantage after another. In Towards a Theory of Alternative Lifestyles, a heartbroken young man stands in line at an exclusive underground gay nightclub promising visions of parallel lives across the multiverse. In Ora et Labora, an adolescent novice at a Gothic monastery is forced to labor slavishly over math problems for the good of society entire. In Boston, at the turn of a very different 20th century, a domineering matron-cum-hangman feels that if you want things done right, you'll just have to do them yourself. Finally, in the titular novella Uranians, an expedition of queer artists, scientists, and one transgender priest are on a lifelong interplanetary voyage that requires them to renegotiate their connections to a remote and hostile Earth, while keeping their ship's biome alive in the harsh void of space.

Uranians Reviews

The whole collection hangs together as form and content, mind and heart. Beautiful work.
-Kim Stanley Robinson, author of The Ministry For the Future

If you like stories that linger, that turn over again and again in your mind after you've read them, then this is your book. Such a delight to have discovered this innovative and brilliant new voice. Such a delight to urge you to the same discovery.
-Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

Exquisite, unsettling, richly felt stories, in which both tenderness and the possibility of estrangement open up doors to the fantastic and the surreal.
-Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize finalist and author of Get in Trouble

One enters Uranians like a trap door into an alternate reality, but slowly the stories reveal themselves as an uncanny valley not far from where we actually stand. With great intelligence, beautiful prose, and a keen eye for our deep-seated anxieties, McCombs draws worlds-past, present, and future-in which capitalism-assisted technologies and patriarchy-induced paranormalities have taken control, rendering us unrecognizable to one another. These are extraordinary tales of anti-heroes in post-apocalyptic and macabre landscapes who must battle systems to find their liberation and in the process illuminate our own. McCombs has written an absorbing and thought-provoking debut collection.
-Alejandro Varela, National Book Award finalist and author of The Town of Babylon

There's a certain pleasure to reading a writer that has mastered his craft. Every beautifully-constructed, razor-sharp story in this collection is an arrow on a perfect path. Theodore McCombs never misses.
-Cadwell Turnbull, author of No Gods, No Monsters

[An] enthralling collection . . . these stories are compassionate, finely wrought, and unique.
-David Vogel, BuzzFeed

The stories [in Uranians] are my favorite kind of speculative-weird and upsetting and imaginative and deeply rooted in the injustices and preoccupations of our world.
-Laura Sackton, Books & Bakes

Wildly creative speculative fiction awaits readers who love this wondrously innovative genre.
-Jim Piechota, Bay Area Reporter

About Theodore Mccombs

Theodore McCombs's stories have appeared in Guernica, The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, and the anthology Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy. Born in Thousand Oaks, California, he is a graduate of the University of California, San Diego, U.C. Berkeley School of Law, and the Clarion Writers Workshop. He lives in San Diego with his partner and their surly old cat and practices environmental law, with a focus on climate change.

Additional information

GOR013338027
9781662601941
1662601948
Uranians: Stories by Theodore Mccombs
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Astra Publishing House
2023-05-30
216
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Uranians