Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

A Song of Ice and Fire Books

There are 5 books in the main A Song of Ice and Fire Series

History is a wheel, for the nature of man is fundamentally unchanging. What has happened before will perforce happen again.” ― George R.R. Martin, A Feast for Crows

What are the A Song of Ice and Fire books about?

A Song of Ice and Fire is a series of contemporary epic fantasy novels written by George R R Martin. The series is highly inspired by classic high fantasy and in particular Tolkien lore. Set primarily in the fictional Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, Martin’s novels are politically charged with historical but active feuds between family dynasties across the kingdoms. At the centre of the action is the fight for the Iron Throne. Read More

More on A Song of Ice and Fire

Made up of five novels with two more already planned, A Song of Ice and Fire also has three prequel novellas, and three spin-off type chapter-based novellas, as well as graphic novel adaptations of the original stories. This series of novels has huge themes of questioning morality. Martin’s writing breaks down the norms and values of our society by exploring issues of warfare, class divide, incest, and extreme violence in the fictional world.

As with most epic fantasy stories, relationships are primary plot devices. However, in A Song of Ice and Fire, the relationships are transactional and political rather than driven by romance. Each novel is separated into a character point of view structure. The series thus far contains the narratives of 24 different characters, written in third person limited POV. George R R Martin also has a reputation for unpredictable character deaths, no matter how essential to the plot they seem.

Adapted by HBO into the television series, ‘Game of Thrones,’ this became a worldwide success, with the premiere reaching a viewership of 823k in the UK and Ireland alone. While fans of the series anxiously await the publication of book six, the Fandom has been kept alive with everything from themed events and cosplay meetups, merchandise, mixed media adaptations like comics and board games, and even an HBO spin-off series, ‘House of Dragon.’

You should read A Song of Ice and Fire books if:

  • You love fantasy to take a more subtle take on magic (but still has dragons!)
  • You’re a fan of plotlines driven by political unrest and civil warfare
  • You’re attracted to complex family dynasties and dynamics

If you love A Song of Ice and Fire, you might like:

Discworld Novels by Terry Pratchett
Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson
Earthsea Cycle by Ursula K. Le Guin

Join the discussion with blog posts featuring A Song of Ice and Fire

A Song of Ice and Fire books in order:

  • Book 1: A Game of Thrones (1996)
  • Book 2: A Clash of Clans (1999)
  • Book 3: A Storm of Swords (2000)
  • Book 4: A Feast for Crows (2005)
  • Book 5: A Dance with Dragons (2011)
  • Book 6: The Winds of Winter (TBC)