Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

Yellow Wife Sadeqa Johnson

Yellow Wife By Sadeqa Johnson

Yellow Wife by Sadeqa Johnson


£9.99
Condition - Very Good
Only 2 left

Summary

Just as beautiful as it is devastating, this heartbreaking read is inspired by the true story Mary Lumpkin, the enslaved woman who forged her own path to freedom.

Yellow Wife Summary

Yellow Wife by Sadeqa Johnson

Virginia, 1850: 'Ain't many choices for a slave woman. Just know everything I do is for you. You are meant to see freedom. I's makin' sure.'

Pheby Delores Brown was born on the Bell Plantation in Charles City, Virginia. The daughter of the estate's medicine woman, and cherished by the Master's sister, her days as an enslaved girl are almost over... She has been promised freedom on her eighteenth birthday.

But when she finally turns eighteen, the life she has dreamed of is tragically torn from her. Instead of being free, she is thrust into the bowels of slavery at the infamous Devil's Half-Acre, a jail where slaves are broken, tortured and sold every day.

Her life flashing before her eyes, Pheby is forced to become the mistress of the jailor, the brutal man who owns the prison. Yet even in hell, Pheby never loses sight of her freedom. But how much will she have to sacrifice? And in the face of such darkness, will she survive?

Just as transfixing as it is devastating, this page-turner is inspired by the true story Mary Lumpkin, the enslaved woman who forged her own path to freedom. Perfect for fans of The Help and The Forest of Vanishing Stars, this heartbreaking read is about hope in a world of hate and the heart-wrenching price of survival.

Readers love Yellow Wife:

'Will literally stay with you forever. It was absolutely heartbreaking... I could not put it down. My heart was pounding throughout the entire book.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Uhhhhhhh... My heart aches!! This was such a powerful and heart-wrenching read... Amazing read!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Whew... One of the best historical fiction novels that I've ever read... Phenomenal.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The fastest page-turner ever and a heart-pounding read... With riveting prose, the pages fly and your heart races.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I ended up crying all the way through... Yes, I cried over these pages.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'My heart aches!! Such a powerful and heart-wrenching read.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'I was completely captivated by the first page and couldn't put this book down.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'Beyond amazing.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A harrowing, emotional, incredible historical saga!... I felt I right there with Pheby every step of the way. Equal parts heartbreaking and triumphant and inspiring.' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

About Sadeqa Johnson

Sadeqa Johnson, a former public relations manager, spent several years working with well-known authors such as J.K. Rowling and Amy Tan before becoming an author herself. She is the international bestselling author of five novels and the recipient of the National Book Club Award, the Phillis Wheatley Award and the USA Best Book Award for best fiction. Originally from Philadelphia, Sadeqa currently lives near Richmond, Virginia, with her husband and three children.

Additional information

GOR013292638
9780349130606
0349130604
Yellow Wife by Sadeqa Johnson
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Dialogue
2023-09-07
288
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Yellow Wife