Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

Unravelling Oliver Liz Nugent

Unravelling Oliver By Liz Nugent

Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent


£8.49
New RRP £9.99
Condition - New
9 in stock

Summary

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma.

Unravelling Oliver Summary

Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent

WINNER - IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year

'Truly excellent, beautifully written ... strongly recommended' Sophie Hannah

'Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before ... you'll gobble it up in one go.' Heat Magazine

'Incredibly brilliant' Marian Keyes

'Gone Girl meets The Spinning Heart ... a great cracking read ... I couldn't put it down' Ryan Tubridy, RTE

'The compulsion to continue reading never wanes and most impressively the ending doesn't buckle under the weight of expectation ... a persistently satisfying read' Sunday Times

'A page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense' Sunday Independent

'An ambitiously structured and compelling "whydunnit"' Daily Mail

'Formidable' Irish Times

'Reminiscent of The Book of Evidence' RTE Guide

'We read this in one sitting ... satisfyingly unnerving.' Woman's Way

'All I know is I stayed awake until 3am to finish it, which I haven't done with a new novel for longer than I can remember.' Irish Independent

'The best opening line you'll read all year ... and you'll keep reading' Sinead Crowley, RTE Arts Correspondent

'Her writing is stylish, the characters are vivid and the line of the story is all too real and plausible. Can't recommend it highly enough.' Rick O'Shea, 2FM

'A superb and compelling terrifying book' Sinead Desmond, TV3

'Just read a book in one sitting. Last time I managed that was about twenty years ago. The book was Liz Nugent's Unravelling Oliver' Declan Burke, CrimeAlwaysPays.ie

'A kind of Irish Mr Ripley ... Gripping, thought-provoking' Darragh McManus, arts journalist

'I read this book over a 24 hour period. I seriously could not put it down.' Writing.ie

'Magnificent ... compulsively readable ... stunning, shock and superb' Frank McGuinness

'I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.'

Liz Nugent's gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith.

Oliver Ryan is a handsome and charismatic success story. He lives in the suburbs with his wife, Alice, who illustrates his award-winning children's books and gives him her unstinting devotion. Their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - enviable until, one evening after supper, Oliver attacks Alice and beats her into a coma.

In the aftermath, as everyone tries to make sense of his astonishing act of savagery, Oliver tells his story. So do those whose paths he has crossed over five decades. What unfolds is a story of shame, envy, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation.

Only Oliver knows the lengths to which he has had to go to get the life to which he felt entitled. But even he is in for a shock when the past catches up with him.

Liz Nugent has worked in Irish film, theatre and television for most of her adult life. She is an award-winning writer of radio and television drama and has written short stories for children and adults. Unravelling Oliver is her first novel.

Unravelling Oliver Reviews

"I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her" ... The No 1 bestselling story of the making of a sociopath that has been compared to Gone Girl * From the Publisher's Description *
Compelling, clever and dark, unlike any other psychological thriller you will have read before ... you'll gobble it up in one go * Heat Magazine *
The compulsion to continue reading never wanes ... a persistently satisfying read. * Sunday Times *
Truly excellent, beautifully written ... strongly recommended -- Sophie Hannah
A page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense * Sunday Independent *

About Liz Nugent

Before becoming a full-time writer, Liz Nugent worked in Irish film, theatre and television. In 2014 her first novel, Unravelling Oliver, was a Number One bestseller and won the Crime Fiction Prize in the 2014 Irish Book Awards. Her second novel, Lying in Wait, went straight to Number One in the Irish bestseller charts, remained there for nearly two months and won her a second IBA. She lives in Dublin with her husband.

Additional information

NGR9780241965641
9780241965641
0241965640
Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent
New
Paperback
Penguin Books Ltd
2015-04-01
240
Winner of Irish Book Awards: Ireland AM Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year 2014
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - Unravelling Oliver