Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The White Lie J.G. Kelly

The White Lie By J.G. Kelly

The White Lie by J.G. Kelly


£17.80
New RRP £22.00
Condition - Like New
Only 1 left

Summary

Based on the legend of Captain Scott, this a gripping, heart-breaking and unforgettable novel perfect for fans of Christobel Kent and Sarah Waters.

The White Lie Summary

The White Lie: The gripping and heart-breaking historical thriller based on a true story by J.G. Kelly

'Kelly is that rare combination, a brilliant storyteller, a sure-footed adventurer into the past and a really marvellous writer. With its new take on one of the most compelling episodes in our nation's narrative, The White Lie brings history to life without disturbing its delicate fabric' CHRISTOBEL KENT

THE LEGEND
1913. Captain Scott and his four companions reach the South Pole to find their Norwegian rival Roald Amundsen has won the race. Defeated, they set out on the 850-mile journey to their ship. Apsley Cherry-Garrard, the explorer sent out to meet them at One Ton depot, peering South through thick spectacles, sees only an infinity of white, and turns back. A year later Scott's pitched tent is found, just ten miles from the depot, and the bodies within speak of hunger, the unbearable strain of hauling the sledge, and the brutal winter cold. They lie in a tomb of ice. Cherry is left forever tormented by thoughts of what might have been.

THE TRUTH
1969. Ten years after Cherry's death, Falcon Grey - who as an orphan of the Blitz was brought up at the explorer's country estate - receives a bequest: a small red notebook that was found in Scott's tent. It is a diary: and it states that they were not victims of the cold, or hunger, but murder, in the coldest of blood. Suspects range from envious foreign powers - such as the Kaiser's Germany - to revolutionaries and even Scott's own men. Vital clues lie in the tent, so Falcon goes South to the ice to see it for himself, but someone is desperate to conceal the truth and will kill to keep the secrets under the ice.

'Polar aficionados will enjoy this. It suggests alternative endings to legendary stories, casting fresh light on characters we think we know pretty well. An imaginative and compelling recasting, and a fine polar thriller to boot' SARA WHEELER

The White Lie Reviews

Jim Kelly is that rare combination, a brilliant storyteller, a sure-footed adventurer into the past and a really marvellous writer. With its new take on one of the most compelling episodes in our nation's narrative, The White Lie brings history to life without disturbing its delicate fabric -- CHRISTOBEL KENT
Praise for The Silent Child
Outstanding. Heartstopping. Brilliant. A story that scorches the page, searing in its honesty and profoundly moving in its emotional impact. The characters reach out to you and challenge your preconceptions in this testament to a tragic chapter of history that moved me to tears. It holds up a dark and shocking mirror to our world, yet ultimately it is a triumphant tale of light within darkness. Of love surviving hate. Impressively researched and superbly told, this is an important powerful novel that everyone should read -- Kate Furnivall, author of top ten bestseller The Liberation

About J.G. Kelly

James Kelly is the author of the Nighthawk crime series for Alison and Busby, and the Philip Dryden series for Penguin. He was born in 1957 and is the son of a Scotland Yard detective. He went to university in Sheffield, later training as a journalist and worked on the Bedfordshire Times, Yorkshire Evening Press and the Financial Times. His first book, The Water Clock, was shortlisted for the John Creasey Award and he has since won a CWA Dagger in the Library and the New Angle Prize for Literature. He lives in Ely, Cambridgeshire.

Additional information

GOR013331335
9781529357837
1529357837
The White Lie: The gripping and heart-breaking historical thriller based on a true story by J.G. Kelly
Used - Like New
Hardback
Hodder & Stoughton
2023-10-05
416
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The White Lie