Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv Erin Litteken

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv By Erin Litteken

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv by Erin Litteken


Condition - Good
Out of stock

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv Summary

The Memory Keeper of Kyiv: The most powerful, important historical novel of 2022 by Erin Litteken

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Beekeeper of Aleppo.

A powerfully moving debut . . . Ukraine's tragic history painfully echoes its current crisis, and on every page the Ukrainian spirit shines out, unbowed, unbent and unbroken. Kate Quinn, author of The Diamond Eye

In the 1930s, Stalin's activists marched through the Soviet Union, espousing the greatness of collective farming. It was the first step in creating a man-made famine that, in Ukraine, stole almost 4 million lives. Inspired by the history the world forgot, and the Russian government denies, Erin Litteken reimagines their story.

In 1929, Katya is 16 years old, surrounded by family and in love with the boy next door. When Stalin's activists arrive in her village, it's just a few, a little pressure to join the collective. But soon neighbors disappear, those who speak out are never seen again and every new day is uncertain.

Resistance has a price, and as desperate hunger grips the countryside, survival seems more a dream than a possibility. But, even in the darkest times, love beckons.

Seventy years later, a young widow discovers her grandmother's journal, one that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her family's haunted past.

This is a story of the resilience of the human spirit, the love that sees us through our darkest hours and the true horror of what happened during the Holodomor.

May we never forget, lest history repeat itself.

A share of proceeds will be donated to DEC's Ukraine Humanitarian Appeal.
A compelling and intimate story of love and survival. Harrowing and haunting . . . yet, at the same time, it is sensitive, beautiful and inspiring. Everybody should read this story, especially now. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Christy Lefteri, author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo
A stunning portrait of Ukraine and its people, of strength, of endurance, of the fight for survival during the forced famine, the Holodomor, but also a tender story of Katya, a grandmother whose hidden history holds the power to guide her granddaughter through the darkness of loss and grief, toward life and a limitless future. A remarkable read not to be missed. Lisa Wingate, author of Before We Were Yours
This beautifully written snapshot of Ukraine's history is both timely and heart-rending, sensitively bringing to life the culture of a nation devastated by an enemy invader. How shocking it is that it's a history that's being repeated today. And how important a reminder that where there's life, there's hope. Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift
Emotionally riveting and honest . . . simultaneously shines an unflinching light on historical atrocities while it celebrates the resilience of the human spirit. You won't soon forget this stunning debut. Paulette Kennedy, author of Parting the VeilThe Memory Keeper of Kyiv is a meticulously researched novel . . . depicting a country whose people managed to dig deep enough to find the strength, determination and heart to survive. Deborah Carr, author of An Island at War
Breathtaking. Devastating. Erin Litteken's The Memory Keeper of Kyiv chronicles a defining but forgotten moment of Ukrainian history. Amanda McCrina, author of The Silent UnseenThe Memory Keeper of Kyiv is a truly enlightening read . . . I recommend this to anyone looking for a personal way to connect with Ukraine's history. M.B. Henry, author of All the Lights Above Us

About Erin Litteken

Erin Litteken is a debut novelist with a degree in history and a passion for research. At a young age, she was enthralled by stories of her family's harrowing experiences in Ukraine before, during and after World War II. She lives in Illinois, USA with her husband and children.

Additional information

CIN1804157597G
9781804157596
1804157597
The Memory Keeper of Kyiv: The most powerful, important historical novel of 2022 by Erin Litteken
Used - Good
Hardback
Boldwood Books Ltd
20220516
316
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Memory Keeper of Kyiv