Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
Over 7 million books in stock
Proud to be B-Corp
Jamaica Inn By Daphne Du Maurier

Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Very Good
£5.79
<20 in stock

Summary

This unforgettable story of murder, mystery and passion by one of the best-loved writers of the twentieth century is perfect for a teenage market. Rebecca, Jamaica Inn and Frenchman's Creek are now available for the first time in YA editions.

Jamaica Inn Summary

Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier

In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there, with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind: Jamaica Inn has a desolate power, and behind it's crumbling walls Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband. When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine, and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.

Jamaica Inn Reviews

Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *
A true classic * Amazon.com *
Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide *
Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *
A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent *
A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights -- Emma Frost * Independent *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *
Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times *

About Daphne Du Maurier

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.

Additional information

GOR007195694
9780349006581
034900658X
Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Little, Brown Book Group
2015-07-16
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Jamaica Inn