Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

A Spy Alone Charles Beaumont

A Spy Alone By Charles Beaumont

A Spy Alone by Charles Beaumont


£5.60
New RRP £9.99
Condition - Like New
Only 1 left

A Spy Alone Summary

A Spy Alone: A compelling modern espionage novel from a former MI6 operative by Charles Beaumont

'This is first class' The Times

'A stunning debut' Maxim Jakubowski, Crime Time

'A marvellously confident debut, sharply observed and exceptionally well written' Charles Cumming, author of Box 88

Everyone knows about the Cambridge Spies from the Fifties, identified and broken up after passing national secrets to the Soviets for years. But no spy ring was ever unearthed at Oxford. Because one never existed? Or because it was never found...?

2022: Former spy Simon Sharman is eking out a living in the private sector. When a commission to delve into the financial dealings of a mysterious Russian oligarch comes across his desk, he jumps at the chance.

But as Simon investigates, worrying patterns begin to emerge. His subject made regular trips to Oxford, but for no apparent reason. There are payments from offshore accounts that suddenly just... stop.

Has he found what none of his former colleagues believed possible, a Russian spy ring now nestled at the heart of the British Establishment? Or is he just another paranoid ex-spook left out in the cold, obsessed with redemption?

From Oxford's hallowed quadrangles to brush contacts on Hampstead Heath, agent-running in Vienna and mysterious meetings in Prague, A Spy Alone is a gripping international thriller and a searing portrait of modern Britain in the age of cynical populism. Perfect for readers of Charles Cumming, Mick Herron and John le Carre.

Praise for A Spy Alone

'Beaumont ... catches the zeitgeist of (le Carre) .... He conveys all the world of espionage with relish, in its murky motives and surveillance techniques and the book races along and makes for a stunning debut' Maxim Jakubowski, Crime Time

'A clever, thrilling spy story that brings the feel of Eric Ambler's shadowy political intrigues right into today's world' Jeremy Duns, author of Free Agent

'A Spy Alone is as intricate as it is absorbing, as fantastically entertaining as it is disturbingly plausible, and is delivered with the confidence of a writer who knows how to handle the highest stakes' Tim Glister, author of Red Corona

'Beaumont's debut novel has such a ring of authenticity about it that it reads like an inside job... The story is gripping and the characters are all well drawn. Highly recommended' Alex Gerlis, author of the Wolf Pack series

'Propulsive, authentic and eye-opening, A Spy Alone is clearly written by someone with first-hand experience of the secret world' James Wolff, author of How to Betray Your Country

'Tense, compelling and remarkably timely... Shades of some of the greats of spy fiction - it might even be better than Charles Cumming' Dominick Donald, author of Breathe

'Beaumont takes the intrigue, atmosphere and subterfuge of the Cambridge Spies and brings it bang up to date with a what-if tale of an Oxford spy ring at the service of modern-day populist politicians and malevolent regimes. A chilling story that feels all too plausible today, written with extraordinary insight' Chris Lloyd, author of The Unwanted Dead

'Authentic and compelling - Beaumont captures the intertwined worlds of Oxford and espionage with the keen eye of the insider' Tom Fletcher, author of The Ambassador

'This book is timely. It's a well-written and atmospheric tale of espionage. But it hits hard at some of the real issues facing Britain and the world today' Dan Kaszeta, author of Toxic: A History of Nerve Agents

About Charles Beaumont

Charles Beaumont worked undercover as an MI6 operative in war zones, on diplomatic missions and in international business. His work spanned two decades and four continents. This is his first novel.

Additional information

GOR013437263
9781804364789
1804364789
A Spy Alone: A compelling modern espionage novel from a former MI6 operative by Charles Beaumont
Used - Like New
Paperback
Canelo
20231116
336
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - A Spy Alone