Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

Man Of War Allan Mallinson

Man Of War By Allan Mallinson

Man Of War by Allan Mallinson


£3.80
New RRP £14.99
Condition - Very Good
6 in stock

Summary

It is 1827: Britain and the Mediterranean Captain Sir Laughton Peto, engaged to Matthew Hervey's sister, is sailing his line-of-battle ship towards Navarino Bay. All is set fair for Matthew Hervey's marriage to Lady Lankester, and his return to active duty at the Cape. But trouble lies ahead as familial commitments clash with affairs of the heart.

Man Of War Summary

Man Of War: (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 9): A thrilling and action-packed military adventure from bestselling author Allan Mallinson that will make you feel you are in the midst of the battle by Allan Mallinson

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell and CS Forester, another engrossing Matthew Hervey adventure from the pen of THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR Allan Mallinson.

Hervey's thrilling battles against the vivid backdrop of the developing British Empire make for richly engaging storytelling -- DAILY MAIL

Captain Matthew Hervey is as splendid a hero as ever sprang from an author's pen -- THE TIMES
The heir to Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester -- OBSERVER
Absolutely brilliant -- ***** Reader review
An absolute delight -- ***** Reader review

***********************************************************
1827: Britain and the Mediterranean

Captain Sir Laughton Peto, recently engaged to Matthew Hervey's sister, is sailing his mighty line-of-battle ship towards Navarino Bay, and war with the Turks.

Six months on, and Matthew Hervey is in London recovering from another bout of malaria and the wound from his battle with the Zulu. All is set for his marriage to the eminently suitable Lady Lankester, and his return to active duty at the Cape.
But trouble lies ahead as familial commitments clash with affairs of the heart and Hervey finds himself embroiled in a military inquiry that could result in public humiliation. As the cataclysmic battle of Navarino Bay looms ever closer for Peto and his crew, Hervey faces a crisis that could change both his life and his military career...

Man of War is the ninth book in Allan Mallinson's Matthew Hervey series. His adventures continue in Warrior. Have you read his previous adventures A Close Run Thing, The Nizam's Daughters, A Regimental Affair, A Call to Arms, The Sabre's Edge, Rumours of War, An Act of Courage and A Company of Spears?

Man Of War Reviews

Rich in illuminating detail ... from the trivial to the arcane. The sea battle of Navarino is as thrilling as any fought on land by Hervey and the manoeuvres into which Hervey is accidentally drawn are as exciting as any battle. * The Times *
[A] splendid literary cavalry charge. This book finds Brigadier Mallinson at the top of his game. Pitch-perfect dialogue, deeply researched historical references ... well-drawn and moving. * Evening Standard *
The climactic battle is as tense, exciting, vivid and gory as we've come to expect for this master of military fiction * The Spectator *
Those who consider that the 20 novels making up Patrick O'Brian's magisterial Aubrey-Maturin series could never be too many will take heart from the fact that Man of War is only the ninth volume in Mallinson's wonderfully realised account of the Napoleonic era and its aftermath, with at least another dozen to follow, it is hoped. Combining an eye for vivid detail with a scholarly accuracy as to military and naval history expected from a former cavalry officer, Mallinson brings his chosen period to life with effortless flair. -- THE TIMES
Mallinson's crisp, authoritative storytelling is as excellent as ever -- DAILY TELEGRAPH

About Allan Mallinson

A professional solder for thirty-five years, Allan Mallinson began writing while still serving.
His first book was a history of four regiments of British light dragoons, one of which he commanded. His debut novel was the bestselling A Close Run Thing, the first in an acclaimed series chronicling the life of a fictitious cavalry officer before and after Waterloo (The Tigress of Mysore is the fourteenth in the series). His The Making of the British Army was shortlisted for a number of prizes, while 1914: Fight the Good Fight won the British Army's 'Book of the Year' Award. Its sequel, Too Important for the Generals, is a provocative look at leadership during the Great War, while Fight to the Finish is a comprehensive history of the First World War, month by month.
Allan Mallinson reviews for the Spectator and the TLS and also writes for The Times. He lives on Salisbury Plain.

Additional information

GOR001297215
9780553816761
0553816764
Man Of War: (The Matthew Hervey Adventures: 9): A thrilling and action-packed military adventure from bestselling author Allan Mallinson that will make you feel you are in the midst of the battle by Allan Mallinson
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Transworld Publishers Ltd
20080310
496
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Man Of War