Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The Spy Ajay Chowdhury

The Spy By Ajay Chowdhury

The Spy by Ajay Chowdhury


£11.40
New RRP £18.99
Condition - Like New
Only 2 left

The Spy Summary

The Spy: The pulse-pounding new undercover thriller for fans of Robert Galbraith, Anthony Horowitz and M. W. Craven by Ajay Chowdhury

*As seen on The One Show*


ONE MISSING BOY. ONE MAN UNDERCOVER. A WHOLE NATION AT RISK.

Detective Kamil Rahman is working for the Met Police when he gets the call from MI5.
Theyve received intelligence of a terrorist plot, and its Kamil they need.

Posing as a disaffected cop and working in his friend Anjolis restaurant on Brick Lane, Kamil attempts to infiltrate the cell. What he uncovers leads him halfway across the world to Kashmir, and face to face with an old nemesis.

Meanwhile Anjoli starts to investigate the disappearance of a young boy whos sending coded messages to his parents. As she attempts to solve his clues, she finds herself in greater danger than she could have imagined.

Time is running out for Kamil and Anjoli: can they save the boy, and save a nation, before its too late?

'As funny and touching as it is well-plotted' Amanda Craig

An intelligent, immersive thriller absolutely brimming with tension' Marion Todd


READERS LOVE THE SPY:

WOW! The Spy is the perfect mix of contemporary politics, humour, action and romance the best in a series that just keeps getting better and better

In Kamal and Anjoli, Ajay Chowdhury has created a modern day Holmes and Watson

Full of intrigue and twists and turns which gave an insight into the fight against terrorism

Praise for the Detective Kamil Rahman series:

'Outstanding' SUNDAY TIMES

'Hugely entertaining' ANN CLEEVES

'A rip-roaring mystery that's engrossing from start to finish' ABIR MUKHERJEE

_______________________________

About the characters:

Kamil has always wanted to be top cop. With a father who reached the position of Police Commissioner of the Calcutta police, what else could he do, other than hanker after an honourable career chasing the bad guys, just like his dad. However, after refusing to turn a blind eye to the corruption he discovered, he was thrown out of the Calcutta police in disgrace and forced to flee to London. When he found work as a waiter, then a cook in his friend Anjolis Brick Lane restaurant, he believed his sleuthing days were over, but somehow trouble still managed to find him. Now, he's a Muslim in the Met, facing overt and covert racism and he needs to be twice as good as his colleagues to make it. All of this he could cope with, if only his personal life was humming along smoothly.

Anjoli is searching, but she doesn't know what for. A high-minded psychologist who is super smart, always restless and naturally empathetic, she helped her mum and dad run their struggling restaurant while she was interviewing for graduate jobs and side hustling her slogan T-shirts. After her parents died, leaving her as manager and owner, she turned it into a flourishing hot spot for Indicular Gastronomy. But sharing work and a flat with Kamil, it wasnt long before she found herself drawn into his detective work, digging him out of dead ends. She is brilliant, meticulous, and often finds crucial connections Kamil has missed. Anjoli would love to get deeper into crime solving possibly even have a go at it full-time. But she just can't shake the feeling that she is an imposter in a game of let's pretend. Does what she feel for Kamil get in the way?


The Spy Reviews

Ever since I discovered Ajay Chowdhury's wonderful Kamil Rahman detective novels, they have offered a feast of great stories, vivid characters, mouth-watering food and fascinating insight into the world of Bengali Muslims in London's Brick Lane. I love his mix of humane feeling, romantic comedy and very modern plotting. THE SPY is his fourth and most ambitious, tackling trans-continental crime,.and pitting his engagingly modest, emotionally confused and very brave hero against the worst villain yet. He is a pleasure to read. * Amanda Craig *
Nobody writes about modern London like Ajay Chowdhury. This book rings with passion for the city's life, its food, its politics - and above all - its darkness. * William Shaw *
An intelligent, immersive thriller absolutely brimming with tension. Ajay Chowdhurys deftness of touch brings both realism and sensitivity to a difficult theme. Superb writing * Marion Todd *
The Kamil & Anjoli crime fiction series from Ajay Chowdhury is bursting with innovative thinking... If youre new to Kamil, what joy for you to have a long & growing series ahead of you * Paul Waters *

About Ajay Chowdhury

Ajay Chowdhury was the inaugural winner of the Harvill SeckerBloody Scotland crime fiction award. He is a tech entrepreneur and theatre director who was born in India and now lives in London where he builds digital businesses, cooks experimental dishes for his wife and daughters and writes through the night. His childrens book, Ayesha and the Firefish, was published in 2016 and adapted into a musical.

The Waiter, published in 2021, is the first in his critically-acclaimed crime series about Detective Kamil Rahman, an ex-policeman from Kolkata who has moved to Brick Lane in London. It is being adapted for television by Moonage Pictures. Follow-up The Cook was published in May 2022 to excellent reviews and deals with the issue of homelessness. The third book in the series The Detective is about government surveillance and AI. The Spy is the fourth book in the Detective Kamil Rahman series.

Additional information

GOR013686877
9781787304017
1787304019
The Spy: The pulse-pounding new undercover thriller for fans of Robert Galbraith, Anthony Horowitz and M. W. Craven by Ajay Chowdhury
Used - Like New
Hardback
Vintage Publishing
2024-04-04
432
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Spy