Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Berlin Pierre Frei

Berlin By Pierre Frei

Berlin by Pierre Frei


$17.19
Condition - Very Good
Only 1 left

Berlin Summary

Berlin: A Novel by Pierre Frei

Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been acclaimed as "ambitious . . . filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerizingly readable, and disturbingly convincing" by the Sunday Telegraph. An electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, Berlin is a page-turner and an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war. It is 1945 in the American sector of occupied Berlin, and a German boy has discovered the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. When the bodies of other young women begin to pile up it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence, and German and American investigators will have to cooperate if they are to stop the slaughter. Author Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with a gripping whodunit in which the stories of the victims themselves provide an absorbing commentary. There is a powerful pulse buried deep in the rubble.

Berlin Reviews

"A far from ordinary thriller. Berlin uses history with a breadth and detail that is startling and convincing. Now that the mass murder has stopped, murder is once again a matter of individuals."
"In the end it is Berlin itself, the city and its inhabitants, meticulously observed and depicted, that emerges as the true star of the story, flawed, cruel, seductively engaging and all too human. This is its best evocation since Len Deighton's Winter."
"Winding and gripping...intricately woven and fantastically plotted...engrossing, addictive."
"In this winning mix of mystery and history set in 1945 Berlin, Frei personalizes the horrors of war....Frei maintains the suspense of whether the killer will claim another victim to the final pages....Fine storytelling."

Additional information

GOR002652962
9780802143297
0802143296
Berlin: A Novel by Pierre Frei
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Grove Press / Atlantic Monthly Press
2007-07-27
432
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Berlin