Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Madam, Will You Talk? Mary Stewart

Madam, Will You Talk? By Mary Stewart

Madam, Will You Talk? by Mary Stewart


$16.99
Condition - Very Good
Only 3 left

Summary

The first of Mary Stewart's beloved romantic mystery novels, full of the glamour of the sun-drenched landscape of Provence.

Madam, Will You Talk? Summary

Madam, Will You Talk?: The modern classic by the queen of romantic suspense by Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey through a dangerous and deadly Provence in this tale perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times

'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent

'The terrible thirsty heat of the Provencal summer, the noise of the cicadas, the dust of the country buses . . . an excellent tale of mystery' The Times

It sounds idyllic: a leisurely drive through the sun-drenched landscape of Provence. But Charity's dream holiday turns into a nightmare when she becomes embroiled in a sinister plot to kidnap a young boy. She soon finds herself in a deadly pursuit and must uncover who to trust . . . and who to fall for.

Whenever I look back now on the strange and terrifying events of that holiday in Southern France, I remember the minutes I spent gazing at the golden arches of the Roman aqueduct over the Gardon... the last brief lull before the thunder.


'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans

'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Madam, Will You Talk? Reviews

The tension mounts steadily until it reaches breaking-point ... an excellent tale of mystery. * The Times *
She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing * Elizabeth Buchan *
A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors. * Harriet Evans *

About Mary Stewart

Mary Stewart was one of the 20th century's bestselling and best-loved novelists. She was born in Sunderland, County Durham in 1916, but lived for most of her life in Scotland, a source of much inspiration for her writing. Her first novel, Madam, Will You Talk? was published in 1955 and marked the beginning of a long and acclaimed writing career. In 1971 she was awarded the International PEN Association's Frederick Niven Prize for The Crystal Cave, and in 1974 the Scottish Arts Council Award for one of her children's books, Ludo and the Star Horse. She was married to the Scottish geologist Frederick Stewart, and died in 2014.

Additional information

GOR002809510
9781444711202
1444711202
Madam, Will You Talk?: The modern classic by the queen of romantic suspense by Mary Stewart
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2011-03-17
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Madam, Will You Talk?