Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

The Mysterious Mrs Hood Kim Donovan

The Mysterious Mrs Hood By Kim Donovan

The Mysterious Mrs Hood by Kim Donovan


$27.79
Condition - New
<40 in stock

Summary

Unravel the mystery of Mrs Hood and her murder in this real-life Sherlock Holmes case...

'As atmospheric and absorbing as any murder mystery' Books By Your Bedside blog

The Mysterious Mrs Hood Summary

The Mysterious Mrs Hood: A True Victorian Mystery of Scandal, Arson, Murder & Betrayal by Kim Donovan

'A gripping story of a cold-blooded murder... This is true crime at its best' Wendy Moore
'A true crime thriller that pulls you in, with drama so addictive it should be illegal' Sam Christer

A true Victorian murder mystery...

Great Yarmouth, September 1900: A young woman is found dead on the beach, a bootlace tied tightly around her neck. Despite her death attracting national attention in the press, nobody claims her. Detective Inspector Robert Lingwood of the Great Yarmouth police force declares he will not rest until the mystery of the young woman's death is solved. But it's only once the case has been referred to Scotland Yard that the layers of mystery start to peel away...

'Mrs Hood' was in fact Mary Jane Bennett, and this is her story.

Following clues and tracking red herrings leads the police to close in on their one and only suspect. With arson, fraud, an affair and a sensation-hungry press, the murder gripped the nation in one of the most eagerly anticipated trials of the early twentieth century. Author Kim Donovan finally tells her great-great-aunt's story and the truth of evil duplicity in Victorian England.

'As atmospheric and absorbing as any murder mystery... A combination of your favourite whodunnit and your favourite true crime podcast. A real triumph!' Books by Your Bedside blog

*A fascinating historical true crime case perfect for fans of The Suspicions of Mr Whicher and The Five*

About Kim Donovan

Kim Donovan is a senior academic librarian at the University of Brighton. She has extensive experience of conducting in-depth research using a wide range of information sources, libraries and archives. Kim is passionate about uncovering the truth behind the death of her great-great aunt, and is committed to telling her story. When she isn't teaching students research skills, she's rooting around in archives and libraries, infected with what Wilkie Collins famously described as 'the detective-fever'.

Additional information

NGR9781399615389
9781399615389
1399615386
The Mysterious Mrs Hood: A True Victorian Mystery of Scandal, Arson, Murder & Betrayal by Kim Donovan
New
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2024-02-22
288
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - The Mysterious Mrs Hood