Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

When Women Were Dragons Kelly Barnhill

When Women Were Dragons By Kelly Barnhill

When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill


$26.49
Condition - New
40+ in stock

Summary

In a world where girls and women are taught to be quiet, the dragons inside them are about to be set free ...

When Women Were Dragons Summary

When Women Were Dragons: an enduring, feminist novel from New York Times bestselling author, Kelly Barnhill by Kelly Barnhill

'A soaring coming-of-age novel.' - THE OBSERVER 'Completely fierce, unmistakably feminist, and subversively funny. When Women Were Dragons brings the heat to misogyny with glorious imagination and talon-sharp prose.' - Bonnie Garmus, author of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY In a world where girls and women are taught to be quiet, the dragons inside them are about to be set free ... In this timely and timeless speculative novel, set in 1950s America, Kelly Barnhill exposes a world that wants to keep girls and women small - and examines what happens when they rise up. Alex Green is four years old when she first sees a dragon in her next-door neighbour's garden, in the spot where the old lady usually sits. The huge dragon, an astonished expression on its face, opens its wings and soars away across the rooftops. And Alex doesn't see the little old lady after that. No one mentions her. It's as if she's never existed. Then Alex's mother disappears, and reappears a week later, with no explanation as to where she has been. But she is a ghostly shadow of her former self, and with scars across her body - wide, deep burns, as though she had been attacked by a monster who breathed fire. Alex, growing from young girl to fiercely independent teenager, is desperate for answers, but doesn't get any. Whether anyone likes it or not, the Mass Dragoning is coming. Everything is about to change, forever. And when it does, this, too, will be unmentionable ... Perfect for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, VOX, and THE POWER.

When Women Were Dragons Reviews

A complex, heartfelt story about following your heart and opening your mind to new possibilities. This novel's magic goes far beyond the dragons. * Kirkus, starred review *

About Kelly Barnhill

Kelly Barnhill lives in Minnesota with her husband and three children. She is the author of four novels, including The Girl Who Drank the Moon, winner of the Newbery Medal. The Witch's Boy received four starred reviews and was a finalist for the Minnesota Book Awards.

Additional information

NGR9781471412226
9781471412226
1471412229
When Women Were Dragons: an enduring, feminist novel from New York Times bestselling author, Kelly Barnhill by Kelly Barnhill
New
Paperback
Hot Key Books
2023-06-08
352
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - When Women Were Dragons