Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Down the Drain Julia Fox

Down the Drain By Julia Fox

Down the Drain by Julia Fox


$49,09
Condition - New
40+ in stock

Summary

The hotly anticipated book from 'one of the all-time pop-culture greats' (New York magazine) that chronicles her shocking life and unyielding determination to not only survive but achieve her dreams.

'Intense and compelling' SUNDAY TIMES

Down the Drain Summary

Down the Drain by Julia Fox

The hotly anticipated book from 'one of the all-time pop-culture greats' (New York magazine) that chronicles her shocking life and unyielding determination to not only survive but achieve her dreams.

'Intense and compelling' SUNDAY TIMES

'A gripping and powerful coming-of-age story' TELEGRAPH

Julia Fox is famous for many things: her captivating acting, such as her breakout role in the film Uncut Gems; her trendsetting style, including bleached eyebrows, exaggerated eyeshadow and cutout dresses; her mastery of social media. But all these share the trait for which she is most famous: unabashedly and unapologetically being herself.

This commitment to authenticity has never been more on display than in Down the Drain. Fox recounts her turbulent path to cultural supremacy: her parents' volatile relationship that divided her childhood between Italy and New York City and left her largely raising herself; a possessive and abusive drug-dealing boyfriend whose torment continued even from within Rikers Island; her own trips to jail as well as to a psychiatric hospital; her work as a dominatrix that led to a complicated entanglement with a sugar daddy; a heroin habit that led to New Orleans trap houses and that she would kick only after the fatal overdose of her best friend; her own near-lethal overdoses and the deaths of still more friends from drugs and suicide; an emotionally explosive, tabloid-dominating romance with a figure she dubs The Artist; a whirlwind, short-lived marriage and her trials as a single parent striving to support her young son.

Yet as extraordinary as her story is, its universality is what makes it so powerful. Fox doesn't just capture her evolution from grade-school outcast to fashion-world icon, she captures her transition from girlhood to womanhood to motherhood. Family and friendship, sex and death, violence and love, money and power, innocence and experience-it's all here, in raw, remarkable and riveting detail.

More than a year before the book's publication, Fox's description of it as a masterpiece in a red carpet interview went viral. As always, she was just being honest. Down the Drain is a true literary achievement, as one-of-a-kind as its author.

Down the Drain Reviews

'Most startling of memoirs. Within two chapters I, too, was hooked ... Fans of Edie Sedgwick, Cookie Mueller and Courtney Love will die for Down The Drain ... I think I just accidentally landed on my book of the year' Paul Flyn, Evening Standard

'A gripping and powerful coming-of-age story that exposes the terrible repercussions of childhood neglect, society's routine exploitation of the female body and the hollowness of celebrity' Telegraph

'Intense and compelling' Sunday Times

'Fox's willingness to be honest about what has happened to her and the shame she sometimes feels provides a sharp alternative to most survivor narratives that are publicized. She's an artist who translates her relationships, her overdoses, and other near-death experiences into the art she makes' Elizabeth Nicholas, The Cut

About Julia Fox

Julia Fox is a multidisciplinary artist. She's had a fashion label, published art books and held numerous exhibitions in New York and Los Angeles. She inspired the character in her break out role in the Safdie Brothers' Uncut Gems and has acted in numerous films since. She's a fashion darling and muse and continues to inspire designers with her bold looks. She's a strong advocate for sustainability and a do-it-yourself attitude. She cohosts a podcast called Forbidden Fruits. She is a single mom and currently lives in New York City with her son Valentino.

Additional information

NGR9780008637903
9780008637903
0008637903
Down the Drain by Julia Fox
New
Hardback
HarperCollins Publishers
20231010
336
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - Down the Drain