Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Her Father's Sins Josephine Cox

Her Father's Sins By Josephine Cox

Her Father's Sins by Josephine Cox


$13.99
Condition - Very Good
7 in stock

Summary

In this classic novel by Sunday Times bestseller Josephine Cox, can Queenie's strength win out to grasp love and happiness?

Her Father's Sins Summary

Her Father's Sins: An extraordinary saga of hope against the odds (Queenie's Story, Book 1) by Josephine Cox

Her Father's Sins by Josephine Cox, the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lonely Girl and Whistledown Woman, is a classic that will appeal to fans of Catherine Cookson and Lyn Andrews alike. 'Cox's talent as a storyteller never lets you escape' - Daily Mail.

Queenie seemed born to suffer. Her mam died giving birth to her, her drunken father George Kenney ignored her unless he was cursing her, and only beloved Auntie Biddy provided an anchor for the little girl. Growing up in post-war Blackburn, life could be tough when Biddy had to take in washing to make ends meet - at a time when the washing machine began to gain popularity. After Auntie Biddy's death there was only Queenie to care for the home and to earn money, and no one to protect her from the father who blamed his daughter for her mother's death.

But Queenie was resilient. And in spite of hardship, she grew up tall and strikingly beautiful with her deep grey eyes and her abundant honey-coloured hair. Love, in the shape of Rick Marsden, might have released her from the burden of the drink-sodden George. But the sins of the fathers would not be easily forgotten . . .

About Josephine Cox

Josephine Cox was born in a cotton-mill house in Blackburn, one of ten children. At the age of sixteen, Josephine met and married her husband Ken, and had two sons. When the boys started school, she decided to go to college and eventually gained a place at Cambridge University. She was unable to take this up as it would have meant living away from home, but she went into teaching - and started to write her first full-length novel. Her strong, gritty stories are taken from the tapestry of life.

Additional information

GOR007656373
9781472235664
1472235665
Her Father's Sins: An extraordinary saga of hope against the odds (Queenie's Story, Book 1) by Josephine Cox
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2016-06-16
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Her Father's Sins