Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

The Blitz Girls Johanna Bell

The Blitz Girls By Johanna Bell

The Blitz Girls by Johanna Bell


$13.69
Condition - Very Good
<20 in stock

Summary

An uplifting and dramatic new saga series about the women who held the country together in its darkest hour - the heroines of the Blitz. Perfect for fans of Jenny Holmes, Nancy Revell and Margaret Dickinson.

The Blitz Girls Summary

The Blitz Girls: A heartwarming and utterly gripping new WW2 series by Johanna Bell

A heartwarming and gripping new saga series from the author of The Bobby Girls

'A heartwarming story of women discovering their inner strength. . . I couldn't put it down' Vicki Beeby, author of A New Start for the Wrens

***

Their country needs them. They need each other.

August, 1940. The war is raging in Europe, but on the home front conflict still seems far away.

Dot, living with her mother-in-law and dreading the day that her thuggish husband comes home on leave, is fighting her own battle to contribute to the war effort. Peggy has found confidence as an Air Raid Precaution Warden, despite the jeers of the men she works with - but beneath her pluck she fears for her close-knit family, scattered by the war. And glamorous Vivian, the former debutante, is running away from her own heart and into danger as a volunteer ambulance driver.

Then the bombs begin to fall over London, and all their lives are turned upside down. Thrown together into an unlikely friendship, can the Blitz Girls protect their country - and each other - in the darkest hour?

Readers love THE BLITZ GIRLS!

'Absolutely loved this book, if you enjoy WW2 stories then this is for you' 5*

'I devoured this, it's going to be a great series' 5*

'I LOVED this book, every single page from start to finish' 5*

'What a wonderful story' 5*

'Family saga at the best. I sat up most of the night to finish it' 5*

'The sense of strength, camaraderie and friendship was so strong in this' 5*

***

Praise for Johanna Bell:

Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing, The Bobby Girls is a must-read for all saga fans.' - Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty's

'I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers. A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it. An exciting new voice in women's fiction.' - Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls

'I really did enjoy The Bobby Girls. It has a lovely warm feeling about it and is excellently written.' - Maureen Lee, RNA award-winning author of Dancing in the Dark

'A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing.' - Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series

'Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women.' - Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay

'Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 crime story. The author places the focus firmly on the girls' growth into independent members of society in a rapidly changing world. It's a heartening central message conveyed with verve and empathy and remains relevant to today's readers, both young and old.' - Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls

'This is a story that needed to be told. As a former Special Constable, I love Johanna Bell from the bottom of my heart for giving a voice to the women who first made a way for me and countless others like me - to work as real police officers in the service of our communities.' - Penny Thorpe, author of The Quality Street Girls

'A lovely story! The author has researched the era and the theme very well. The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age.' - AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky

About Johanna Bell

Johanna is a freelance journalist living in Surrey with her husband, daughter and dog. She developed a passion for learning about the wars after chatting to her granddad about his experiences in World War Two.

Additional information

GOR013238859
9781399708760
1399708767
The Blitz Girls: A heartwarming and utterly gripping new WW2 series by Johanna Bell
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2023-08-17
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Blitz Girls