Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
Proud to be B-Corp
The Good Life By Jay McInerney

The Good Life by Jay McInerney

Condition - Like New
Only 1 left


Set in the shadow of 9/11, this is a story about love, family and conflicting desires.

The Good Life Summary

The Good Life by Jay McInerney

Jay McInerney revisits ten years on some of the characters that populated Brightness Falls. Luke McGavock, in the enviable position of having made more money than he can spend, has chosen to take a sabbatical in which he might recover the sense of purpose suddenly lacking in his life. But his wife is more than up to the task of spending and very much a part of Upper East Side society, which affects their daughter in ways that he shudders to think about. Meanwhile, Russell and Corrine Galloway have survived a separation and managed to produce, by extraordinary medical means, two children who help bind them together, even if the promise of their early years together has thinned and faded. Russell is still in publishing, though in a diminished role, while Corrine casts about for a role she might play other than mother. These are only some of the lives transformed by 9/11, in which both McGavock and the Calloways lose a friend, and Luke and Corrine soon find themselves side by side, providing food and drink to workers at the devastated site, while feeling lost anywhere else. This novel is the story of the love that develops between them, people battered by loss and betrayal, by memory and regret, by fresh disappointment and shocks, people determined to discover, before it's too late, what the good life truly is.

The Good Life Reviews

'Jay McInerney is the type of American novelist to whom English readers instinctively warm' Sunday Telegraph 'McInerney's writing is ironic, penetrating and at times even lyrical. He has all the true instincts of a major novelist' Joseph Olshan 'McInerney is the finest commentator on contemporary America' Yorkshire Post 'McInerney has proven himself not only a brilliant stylist but a master of characterisation, with a keen eye for the incongruities of urban life' New York Times Book Review

About Jay McInerney

Jay McInerney is the author of six previous novels, Bright Lights, Big City, Ransom, Story of My Life, Brightness Falls, The Last of the Savages and Model Behaviour, as well as one story collection How It Ended. He lives in New York and Nashville.

Additional information

The Good Life by Jay McInerney
Used - Like New
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Good Life