Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else James Meek

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else By James Meek

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else by James Meek


$15.49
Condition - Very Good
5 in stock

Summary

How the British government packaged and sold its people to the world

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else Summary

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else by James Meek

"In a little over a generation the bones and sinews of the British economy - rail, energy, water, postal services, municipal housing - have been sold to remote, unaccountable private owners. In a series of brilliant portraits James Meek shows how Britain's common wealth became private, and the impact it has had on us all. In a series of panoramic accounts, Meek explores the human stories behind the incremental privatization of the nation over the last three decades. As our national assets are being sold, the new buyers reap the rewards, and the ordinary consumer is left to pay the ever rising bill. Urgent, powerfully written and deeply moving, Private Island is a passionate anatomy of the state of the nation for readers of Chavs and Whoops!"

Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else Reviews

WINNER OF THE ORWELL PRIZE FOR BOOKS 2015 "James Meek's brilliant book, bracing in its detail and sweeping in its scope, makes it clear just how central privatisation is to the story of contemporary Britain: some of it will make you sad, some of it will make you furious, but you are guaranteed to be left feeling that you understand this country much better." - John Lanchester, author of Whoops! "Meek's range, humour and boldness are a joy." -"Observer" "One of the country's finest writers." -"GQ Magazine" "Entertaining, vastly intelligent." -"New Yorker "One activity in which Britain leads the world is privatisation. From Thatcher to Cameron, prime minister after prime minister has flogged off our public assets at rock bottom prices to the private sector. The result has been massive returns for investors and middle men, poorer services for the public - - and a downgrading of our entitlements as citizens. All this is detailed by James Meek in a book that stands as one of the most powerful critiques of the mess that is Britain's economy." - Aditya Chakrabortty, Senior Economics Commentator, Guardian. "A series of essays that document with forensic skill the ruthless and chaotic privatisation of Britain. This is the definitive account of how so much has gone and continue to go wrong with Britain's institutions. Don't read it all at once - it's too depressing." - Joan Bakewell, Books of the Year, New Statesman

About James Meek

James Meek is a contributing editor of the London Review of Books. He is the author of six novels that have published in the UK, US, France and Germany, including The People's Act of Love, that was shortlisted for the Booker Prize, and won the Ondaatje Prize and Scottish Arts Council Award. We are Now Beginning our Descent won the 2008 Le Prince Maurice Prize and The Heart Broke In was shortlisted for the 2012 Costa Prize. In 2004 he was named the foreign correspondent of the year by the British Press Awards and he contributes regularly to the Guardian, New York Times and International Herald Tribune. www.jamesmeek.net

Additional information

GOR006170075
9781781682906
1781682909
Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else by James Meek
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Verso Books
2014-08-19
229
Short-listed for Orwell Prize 2015
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Private Island: Why Britain Now Belongs to Someone Else