Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

English Agriculture in 1850-51 James Caird

English Agriculture in 1850-51 By James Caird

English Agriculture in 1850-51 by James Caird


Sir James Caird (1816-1892) was a Scottish agriculturalist and M.P., who wrote widely on agriculture and land economy, in Britain and the Empire. Arguing for the need for official statistics to be collected, he produced this detailed county-by-county survey of the state of English agriculture in 1852.

English Agriculture in 1850-51 Summary

English Agriculture in 1850-51 by James Caird

Sir James Caird (1816-1892) was a Scottish agriculturalist and M.P., who wrote widely on agricultural matters, not only in Britain but in Ireland, Canada, America and India. British agricultural incomes had been falling due to low grain prices since 1846, and Caird was commissioned by The Times to undertake a survey of English agriculture. His county-by-country reports were published in 1852 as English Agriculture in 1850-51. The work was also published in America, and in German, French and Swedish versions. Changing patterns of trade meant that British agriculture had to adapt to compete with cheap imports, and tenant farmers needed greater security. Caird campaigned in Parliament for regular and official agricultural statistics to be collected, so that the agricultural economy could be made more efficient, though it was nine years before this happened. Caird was knighted in 1882, and served on many official committees.

Table of Contents

Preface; 1. Buckinghamshire; 2. Buckinghamshire continued; 3. Oxfordshire; 4. Oxfordshire continued; 5. Gloucestershire; 6. Gloucestershire continued; 7. Devonshire; 8. Dorsetshire; 9. Dorsetshire continued; 10. Wiltshire; 11. Wiltshire continued; 12. Hampshire; 13. North Hants. Berkshire; 14. Berkshire; 15. Surrey; 16. Sussex; 17. Essex; 18. Essex. Suffolk; 19. Suffolk; 20. Norfolk; 21. The Fen country; 22. Lincolnshire; 23. Lincolnshire continued; 24. Nottinghamshire; 25. Nottinghamshire continued; 26. Leicestershire; 27. Warwickshire; 28. Staffordshire; 29. Staffordshire continued; 30. Tamworth; 31. Cheshire; 32. Lancashire; 33. Lancashire continued; 34. Yorkshire; 35. Yorkshire continued; 36. Yorkshire continued; 37. Yorkshire continued; 38. Durham; 39. Durham continued; 40. Cumberland; 41. Cumberland continued; 42. Northumberland; 43. Northumberland continued; 44. Derbyshire; 45. Derbyshire. Rutland; 46. Northamptonshire; 47. Northamptonshire continued; 48. Bedfordshire; 49. Bedfordshire continued; 50. Hertfordshire. Middlesex; 51. Cambridge. Huntingdon; 52. Conclusions; 53. The landlord; 54. The farmer; 55. The labourer; 56. Conclusion; Index.

Additional information

English Agriculture in 1850-51 by James Caird
Cambridge University Press
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - English Agriculture in 1850-51