Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

The Deal Of A Lifetime Fredrik Backman

The Deal Of A Lifetime By Fredrik Backman

The Deal Of A Lifetime by Fredrik Backman


$18.99
Condition - Very Good
8 in stock

The Deal Of A Lifetime Summary

The Deal Of A Lifetime by Fredrik Backman

Fans of Beartown and A Man Called Ove will love this festive novella, from the 13 million copy internationally bestselling author.
________


It is Christmas Eve and a father and son are meeting for the first time in years.

The father has a story he needs to share before it's too late. As he tells his son about a courageous little girl lying in a hospital bed a few miles away, he reveals even more about himself; his triumphs in business, his failures as a parent, his past regrets, his hopes for the future.

Now, on this night before Christmas, the father has been given the unexpected chance to do something remarkable that could change the destiny of a little girl he hardly knows. But before he can make the deal of a lifetime, he must find out what his own life has actually been worth, and only his son can reveal the answer.

With humour and compassion, Fredrik Backman's novella The Deal of a Lifetime reminds us that life is a fleeting gift, and our legacies rest in how we share that gift with those we love.

The Deal Of A Lifetime Reviews

The Deal of a Lifetime strikes straight at the heart and hits you -- Deccan Chronicle * India *
This (dimensionally) tiny book comes packed with huge emotion. Readers will speed through it in under two hours, then spend the rest of the day - at least - pondering the astonishing ideas it unleashes. The Deal of a Lifetime quite literally will grab you from the start and set you off in a host of incredible directions. Fredrik Backman has a wonderful ability to reach deep inside his readers, pull out feelings they didn't know they had, and set their minds spinning. What a blockbuster! -- The Book Reporter, US
[This] book is short but every word counts and that'll hit you square in the heart. . . . You may shed tears over this book. You may need to savor it a second time, to feel its words again. However you read it, The Deal of a Lifetime is an experience you'll never trade. -- Rushville Republican, US
Praise for Beartown -- -

Surrounded by impenetrable forests, it recreates the stifling atmosphere of a dying community. This is a mature, compassionate novel.

* Sunday Times *
A story about families, about friendship and loyalty, inequality, female vulnerability, male back-slapping, and parenthood ... No person's story is too little to be told, Backman includes them all. A novel with a big heart * Joenkoepings-Posten, Sweden *
A kind of problem play that moves extremely skilfully near the melodramatic without derailing. Its originality is substantial and the book credibly conveys the dual faces of everyday life. An impressive novel, like no other * BTJ, Sweden *
Friday Night Lights for Swedes * O Magazine *
As popular Swedish exports go, Backman is up there with ABBA and Stieg Larsson. * The New York Times Book Review *
Backman is a masterful writer, his characters familiar yet distinct, flawed yet heroic. . . There are scenes that bring tears, scenes of gut-wrenching despair, and moments of sly humor. . .Like Friday Night Lights, this is about more than youth sports; it's part coming-of-age novel, part study of moral failure, and finally a chronicle of groupthink in which an unlikely hero steps forward to save more than one person from self-destruction. A thoroughly empathetic examination of the fragile human spirit, Backman's latest will resonate a long time. * Kirkus Reviews *

About Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is the Number One New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called Ove - now in development as a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks. His subsequent fiction includes My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises, Britt-Marie Was Here, Beartown and Us Against You. Beartown is being adapted for HBO by the team behind The Bridge. He is also the author of two novellas: And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and The Deal of a Lifetime.

Fredrik Backman's books are published in more than forty countries and have sold over 10 million copies. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children.

Additional information

GOR009622355
9780241359518
0241359511
The Deal Of A Lifetime by Fredrik Backman
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Penguin Books Ltd
2018-10-18
80
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Deal Of A Lifetime