Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

An Invitation to the Kennedys Emily Hourican

An Invitation to the Kennedys By Emily Hourican

An Invitation to the Kennedys by Emily Hourican


$26.49
Condition - Very Good
6 in stock

Summary

Page-turning historical fiction from the bestselling author of the Guinness Girls series

An Invitation to the Kennedys Summary

An Invitation to the Kennedys: A captivating story of high society, forbidden love and a world on the cusp of change by Emily Hourican

'Perfect for fans of The Crown and Downton Abbey ' - Hazel Gaynor, bestselling author of The Last Lifeboat

Kathleen 'Kick' Kennedy, recently arrived from Boston, is already a huge hit in 1930s London society. As the daughter of the US ambassador, she is at the centre of the most elite social circles. But when she falls for a duke-in-waiting, she realises there are plenty of people who think she doesn't belong.

Lady Brigid Guinness has no interest in love, marriage or society connections. But her brother-in-law Chips Channon has other ideas - and seems intent on pushing her towards a match with a dull German prince.

When Chips invites the Kennedys and a select group of friends and family to Kelvedon Hall, his country estate, Brigid and Kick discover that beneath the brittle facade of politeness, marriages are on the rocks, political intrigue abounds and nothing is really as it seems - all while the war in Europe grows closer by the day.

By the time their week in Essex has ended, both Kick and Brigid realise that their world is changing rapidly, and their hopes and plans for the future may have to change too . . .

Inspired by true-life events, An Invitation to the Kennedys is a spell-binding page-turner from the bestselling author of the Guinness Girls series.

An Invitation to the Kennedys Reviews

An utterly captivating insight into these fascinating women and the times they lived in ... it's an absolute page-turner * Irish Independent *
Masterfully and glamorously told ... essential reading for history and gossip lovers alike * Sunday Business Post *
Fans of Downton Abbey will adore this * Sunday Times *
Gripping ... this dramatic novel takes us into the heart of their privileged, beautiful and often painful hidden world * Irish Country Magazine *
Another absorbing and glamorous page-turner from Hourican * The Gloss Magazine *

About Emily Hourican

Emily Hourican is a journalist and author. She has written features for the Sunday Independent for fifteen years, as well as Image magazine, Conde Nast Traveler and Woman and Home. She was also editor of The Dubliner Magazine.
Emily's first book, a memoir titled How To (Really) Be A Mother was published in 2013. She is also the author of novels The Privileged, White Villa, The Outsider and The Blamed, as well as three novels about the Guinness sisters: The Glorious Guinness Girls, The Guinness Girls: A Hint of Scandal and The Other Guinness Girl.
She lives in Dublin with her family.

Additional information

GOR013343527
9781399708029
1399708023
An Invitation to the Kennedys: A captivating story of high society, forbidden love and a world on the cusp of change by Emily Hourican
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hachette Books Ireland
2023-09-14
464
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - An Invitation to the Kennedys