Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Ashes Christopher de Vinck

Ashes By Christopher de Vinck

Ashes by Christopher de Vinck


$13.99
Condition - Like New
Only 2 left

Summary

A heart-wrenching tale of friendship, war and courage.

Ashes Summary

Ashes: A WW2 historical fiction inspired by true events. A story of friendship, war and courage by Christopher de Vinck

WINNER OF THE 'FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR' AT CRT 2021

A deeply touching novel about two young women whose differences, which once united them, will tear them apart forever, during Hitler's Nazi occupation of Belgium and France. Based on true events.

For fans of All The Light We Cannot See and Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Belgium, July 1939: Simone Lyon is the daughter of a Belgium national hero, the famous General Joseph Lyon. Her best friend Hava Daniels, is the eldest daughter of a devout Jewish family. Despite growing up in different worlds, they are inseparable.

But when, in the spring of 1940, Nazi planes and tanks begin bombing Brussels, their resilience and strength are tested. Hava and Simone find themselves caught in the advancing onslaught and are forced to flee.

In an emotionally-charged race for survival, even the most harrowing horrors cannot break their bonds of love and friendship. The two teenage girls, will see their innocence fall, against the ugly backdrop of a war dictating that theirs was a friendship that should never have been.

About Christopher de Vinck

Christopher de Vinck is a teacher and the author of eleven books and numerous articles and essays for publications such as the Wall Street Journal and Reader's Digest. He delivers speeches on faith, disabilities, fatherhood, and writing, and has been invited to speak at the Vatican. He is the father of three and lives in New Jersey with his wife. His essays on everyday life have been published in the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, USA Today, Reader's Digest, Good Housekeeping, The Chicago Tribune, The Dallas Morning News, The National Catholic Reporter, and used in high school and college textbooks as samples of good writing. He has won two Christopher Awards, which celebrates authors whose work looks at the 'highest values of the human spirit'. His essays have been selected three times for 'Best Column' by the National Catholic Press Association. His essay The Power of the Powerless praised by, among many others President Ronald Reagan, was selected by Christianity Today as one of the ten 'Best Biographies and/or Autobiographies' of this past century, which also included the works of C.S. Lewis, Thomas Merton, and Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn.

Additional information

GOR013487185
9780310111986
0310111986
Ashes: A WW2 historical fiction inspired by true events. A story of friendship, war and courage by Christopher de Vinck
Used - Like New
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers Inc
2020-08-18
352
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Ashes