Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

The Orphan Girl Chrissie Walsh

The Orphan Girl By Chrissie Walsh

The Orphan Girl by Chrissie Walsh


$24,99
Condition - Very Good
6 in stock

Summary

A World War One saga of found family and triumph in the face of adversity.

The Orphan Girl Summary

The Orphan Girl by Chrissie Walsh

Will she discover the secret of her past?

1901, West Yorkshire. When Eli Simmonite takes in a heavily pregnant woman fleeing from peril, he feels sure no good will come of it. After all, settled folk don't need much reason to take against the travellers, so having one seek safety amongst his people is unheard of.

When danger comes knocking they leave devastation and a newborn child in their wake. Eli is left with the baby girl and his orphaned grandson; a reminder of the offer of aid that cost him his family.

With no kin but the adopted family who hold her responsible for their demise, this girl named Rosie Nobody is filled with questions of her past. But with war looming in all of their futures, questions must be put aside: survival is the key.

A compelling and beautifully written historical WWI saga of family secrets and triumph in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and AnneMarie Brear.

Readers love The Orphan Girl!

'What a wonderful book... It is really well written and very enjoyable, keeping the reader engrossed and gripped until the very last page' NetGalley Reviewer,

'I could not fault any of this book, as the author brings all the characters to life, its such an interesting story that will engross readers all the way through. Loved it' Booklover Bev,

'Just finished this and read it in one day, it was that good... Very enchanting storyline and would love another instalment' Slouchie Hats,

'What a brilliant book about the travelling family. If you like family sagas based in wartime you will love this book' Goodreads Reviewer,

'Wonderful way of words and brings the story and characters to life. Endearing' NetGalley Reviewer,

'Really well written and very enjoyable, keeping the reader engrossed and gripped until the very last page' NetGalley Reviewer,

The Orphan Girl Reviews

PRAISE FOR CHRISSIE WALSH:
'An authentic Yorkshire saga - you can almost hear the clacking of the looms. Add a feisty mill girl, determined to fight injustice, and you'll be reading through the night' Alrene Hughes, on The Girl from the Mill.
'Full of joy, sorrow and a big pinch of fun. I loved it' Elizabeth Gill, on The Child from the Ash Pits.
'A captivating story of family, relations and the complexities of life. With truly heart-tugging moments that make you shed a tear. The Child from the Ash Pits is everything a good read should be' -- Diane Allen, on The Child from the Ash Pits

About Chrissie Walsh

Born and raised in West Yorkshire, Chrissie trained to be a singer and cellist before becoming a teacher. When she married her trawler skipper husband, they moved to a little fishing village in Northern Ireland. Chrissie is passionate about history and that passion and knowledge shine through in her writing.

Additional information

GOR012498197
9781801105606
180110560X
The Orphan Girl by Chrissie Walsh
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Head of Zeus
2022-03-03
384
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Orphan Girl