Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Paths of Death and Glory Charles Whiting

Paths of Death and Glory By Charles Whiting

Paths of Death and Glory by Charles Whiting


$16.49
Condition - Like New
Only 1 left

Summary

Charles Whiting was a prolific British novelist and military historian. He wrote under his own name and a variety of pseudonyms including Duncan Harding, Leo Kessler and K.N. Kostov.

Paths of Death and Glory Summary

Paths of Death and Glory: The Last Days of the Third Reich by Charles Whiting

The epic story of how the Second World War was won.

On 4 January 1945, General 'Blood and Guts' Patton confided gloomily to his diary, 'We can still lose the war.' The Nazis were attacking in Eastern France, Luxembourg and Belgium. General Eisenhower's allied armies had lost over 300,000 men in battle (with a similar number of non-battle casualties) and they were still in the same positions they had first captured three months before.

Would the German will to resist never be broken?

Veteran military historian Charles Whiting assembled individual stories from the frontline as the war entered its last bloody, but ultimately victorious phase. From material such as diaries, interviews and battalion journals he vividly builds up a picture of the soldiers and combatants. As the greatest conflict of them all came to its epic crescendo, those on the ground knew that paths that lead to glory could also lead to death...

Perfect for fans of Anthony Beevor, Richard Overy and Damien Lewis.

About Charles Whiting

A man who joined the army at 16 by lying about his age, Charles Whiting became a well-known author and military historian through his academic prowess. His first novel, written while still an undergraduate, was published in 1954 and by 1958 had been followed by three wartime thrillers. Between 1960 and 2007 Charles went on to write over 350 titles, including 70 non-fiction titles covering varied topics from the Nazi intelligence service to British Regiments during World War II. He passed away in 2007.

Additional information

GOR012281296
9781800325111
1800325118
Paths of Death and Glory: The Last Days of the Third Reich by Charles Whiting
Used - Like New
Paperback
Canelo
2021-12-16
288
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Paths of Death and Glory