Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

The Girl Behind the Gates Brenda Davies

The Girl Behind the Gates By Brenda Davies

The Girl Behind the Gates by Brenda Davies


Summary

A raw, heart-breaking yet ultimately uplifting novel about a young woman cut down in her prime, and of the woman who brings her back to life - based on a true story.

The Girl Behind the Gates Summary

The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story by Brenda Davies

***TOP TEN BESTSELLER***

'Compelling. Poignant. Haunting. Heart wrenching. Just beautiful. Everyone needs to read this wonderful book.' - Renita D'Silva, bestselling author of The Forgotten Daughter

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her.

1981.
When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than forty years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.

Based on a true story, The Girl Behind the Gates is perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter and Philomena.

Further praise for THE GIRL BEHIND THE GATES:

'The Girl behind the Gates absorbed me from the start. A haunting, heart-wrenching but ultimately heart-warming novel.' - Gill Thompson, bestselling author of The Oceans Between Us

'The Girl Behind the Gates is a powerful, emotional novel. I was moved to tears by the ending and will certainly not hesitate to recommend it.' - Jill Childs, bestselling author of Gracie's Secret

'A powerful story of trust, compassion, healing - and the transforming power of love, that can give new life to a broken spirit.' - Sharon Maas, bestselling author of The Violin Maker's Daughter

Readers LOVE The Girl Behind the Gates!

'The best book of the year. I read 125 books a year and this is the best I have read' - 5 STARS
'I can't stop crying having just finished the book. It's an incredible piece of literary genius' - 5 STARS
'A story that needs to be told' - 5 STARS
'An inspirational and very moving story' - 5 STARS
'Just brilliant. I wholeheartedly recommend this book' - 5 STARS
'I hardly ever write a review but if you read one book this year this is it' - 5 STARS
'A very moving and heartbreaking story' - 5 STARS
'I would have given this book 10 STARS if I could' - 5 STARS
'This book is beautifully written and captivating in every way' - 5 STARS

The Girl Behind the Gates Reviews

Compelling. Poignant. Haunting. Heart wrenching. An eye-opener of a story that will stay with you long after you've read the last page. Hard to believe this is a debut as the writing is assured and beautiful, the characters vividly brought to life on the page. I lived every minute of this harrowing story that will resonate with everyone. Just beautiful. Everyone needs to read this wonderful book. * Renita D'Silva, bestselling author of The Forgotten Daughter *
The Girl behind the Gates absorbed me from the start and had me invested in Nora's story throughout. In this haunting debut novel, Brenda Davies takes us on a journey that is often uncomfortable, at times painful, but always told in beautiful prose and with great compassion and insight. Although horrified by the deplorable ways in which psychiatric patients were treated in the last century, I was also inspired and uplifted by the triumphant power of the human spirit and people's capacity to love and nurture others. A heart-wrenching but ultimately heart-warming novel that acts as a great advocate for the humane treatment of mental illness. * Gill Thompson, bestselling author of THE OCEANS BETWEEN US *
The Girl Behind the Gates is a powerful, emotional novel - harrowing in parts but always authentic and full of insights and compassion. It's an important reminder of the abuse suffered by unmarried mothers - and many young women generally - only a matter of decades ago - and a sobering account of the best and worst of human nature. I was moved to tears by the ending and will certainly not hesitate to recommend it. * Jill Childs, bestselling author of Gracie's Secret *
A powerful story of trust, compassion, healing -- and the transforming power of love, that can give new life to a broken spirit. * Sharon Maas, bestselling author of THE VIOLIN MAKER'S DAUGHTER *
I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Girl Behind the Gates. It's a powerful true story written with such a light but sure touch - hauntingly beautiful and wonderfully uplifting. * Karol Griffiths, Hollywood script consultant and author of THE ART OF SCRIPT EDITING *

About Brenda Davies

Dr Brenda Davies is Consultant Psychiatrist. She holds regular workshops around the world and includes many celebrities among her clients. Having been born and raised in County Durham, England, Brenda Davies now lives very happily in Wales. She spent many years living and working abroad, in Zambia, the USA, Germany and Rome. The Girl Behind the Gates is her first novel.

Additional information

GOR011002702
9781529374544
1529374545
The Girl Behind the Gates: The gripping, heart-breaking historical bestseller based on a true story by Brenda Davies
Used - Like New
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2020-07-23
352
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Girl Behind the Gates