Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Wind Singer By William Nicholson

The Wind Singer by William Nicholson

New RRP £6.99
Condition - Very Good
£3.19
5 in stock

Summary

In the walled city state of Aramanth, rules are everything. When Kestrel Hath dares to rebel, the Chief Examiner humiliates her father and sentences the whole family to the harshest punishment. Desperate to save them, Kestrel learns the secret of the wind singer, and sets out on a terrifying journey to the true source of evil that grips Aramanth.

The Wind Singer Summary

The Wind Singer by William Nicholson

The first book in William Nicholson's award-winning fantasy adventure series, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Mortal Engines and Star Wars. `Gloriously cinematic and completely enthralling' - Independent This Modern Classic edition contains special bonus material. I hate school! I hate ratings! I won't reach higher! I won't strive harder! I won't make tomorrow better than today! In the walled city state of Aramanth, rules are everything. When Kestrel Hath dares to rebel, the Chief Examiner humiliates her father and sentences the whole family to the harshest punishment. Desperate to save them, Kestrel learns the secret of the wind singer, and she and her twin brother, Bowman, set out on a terrifying journey to the true source of evil that grips Aramanth . . . 'In terms of imagination and sheer scale, it's as ambitious as books get . . . think Star Wars and then some' - Daily Telegraph Fantasy books for children don't get more spectacular than The Wind Singer. William Nicholson's Wind on Fire trilogy has been translated into over 25 languages and won prizes including the Blue Peter Book Award and Smarties Prize Gold Award. One of the greatest writers of our time, William Nicholson has not only sold millions of children's books worldwide, but has also written for the screen and the stage, including the Oscar-winning film Gladiator and the BAFTA-winning play Shadowlands.

About William Nicholson

William Nicholson is an Oscar-nominated screenwriter and award-winning children's author. He has written the screenplays for the Oscar-winning Gladiator and the BAFTA winner Shadowlands. The Wind Singer, first in the Wind on Fire trilogy, won both the Smarties Gold Award and Blue Peter Book Award. His other books for children and teenagers include the Noble Warriors series and Rich and Mad. William lives in Sussex with his wife.

Additional information

GOR008275532
9781405285315
1405285311
The Wind Singer by William Nicholson
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Egmont UK Ltd
2017-04-06
368
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Wind Singer