Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
Over 7 million books in stock
Proud to be B-Corp
The Rose Garden By Tracy Rees

The Rose Garden by Tracy Rees

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Very Good
£5.49
<40 in stock

Summary

Spellbinding historical fiction from the bestselling author of Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Tracy Chevalier and Dinah Jefferies.

The Rose Garden Summary

The Rose Garden by Tracy Rees

The Rose Garden is a richly imagined historical novel full of intrigue and secrets, spanning the luxury and poverty of Victorian England. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies and Rachel Hore.

Every house has its secrets . . .

For twelve-year-old Ottilie Finch, London is an exciting playground to explore. Her family have recently arrived in Hamstead from Durham, under a cloud of scandal that Otty is blissfully unaware of. The only shadow over her days is her mother's mysterious illness, which keeps her to her room.

When young local girl Mabs is offered the chance to become Mrs Finch's companion, it saves her from a desperate life on the canals. Little does she know that all is not as picture-perfect as it seems. Mabs is about to become tangled in the secrets that chased the Finches from their last home, and trapped in an impossible dilemma . . .

'Tracy Rees is a natural storyteller . . . What a treat it is!' - Rachel Hore, author of A Gathering Storm.

'In this engrossing novel Tracy Rees takes the reader directly into the drama and action . . . the roles and attitudes to women at the end of the Victorian period and the emerging 'women's movement were riveting. Totally unputdownable.' - Dinah Jefferies, author of The Tea-Planter's Wife.

The Rose Garden Reviews

In this engrossing novel Tracy Rees takes the reader directly into the drama and action, her writing bringing every scene to sparkling vivid life. The rich use of language meant I was fully immersed in the Victorian world of the main women protagonists and didn't want to leave. Written with empathy and revealing differing sides to even more minor characters, the roles and attitudes to women at the end of the Victorian period and the emerging 'women's movement were riveting. Totally unputdownable. -- Dinah Jefferies
A warm, original and upbeat novel. Tracy Rees is a natural storyteller and I couldn't stop turning the pages. I loved the setting of Victorian Hampstead and its vivid range of characters. What a treat it is! -- Rachel Hore on The Rose Garden
Tracy Rees has a rare gift for creating characters you are rooting for from the first page. The writing is fresh and engaging, with a gentle humour...the research is meticulous, and the women's stories are told with immense compassion. This is a novel that immerses you in its world as if by magic, and keeps you enthralled till the very end. -- Gill Paul on The Rose Garden
Beautifully written and vividly imagined, The Rose Garden strikes the perfect balance between period drama to savour and compelling escapism to devour. Tracy Rees has such a talent for writing engaging characters who stay with you. I loved it! -- Hazel Gaynor on The Rose Garden
A rich, compelling and intricate tapestry of women's lives . . . their wants, needs and dreams through the characters diverse lives. I couldn't put it down. -- Liz Fenwick on The Rose Garden
A rich historical drama that is both a subtle study of the treatment of women and an entertaining escape. Pure joy. -- Jo Spain on The Rose Garden
such a treat ... I loved Tracy's elegant writing and the vivid and relatable characters, and historically-rich story...wonderful and uplifting. -- Nicola Cornick on The Rose Garden
It's so wonderful, so poignant and oh, the history. I loved delving into these women's lives, their loves, their individual and very different and difficult plights. It's eye opening and entertaining and moving all at the same time. Bravo to Tracy. I can't wait to see this book fly. -- Lorna Cook on The Rose Garden
a truly captivating tale of female friendship, courage and empowerment, all wrapped up in the wonderful escapism of an exquisite period drama -- Samantha King on The Rose Garden
The Rose Garden is an absolute delight to read and holds you spellbound from cover to cover. Full of wonderful characters woven into a story that tugs at your heartstrings, this is a truly beautiful novel that confirms Tracy Rees is at the height of her game. -- Rebecca Griffiths on The Rose Garden
...gorgeously written, deeply atmospheric, tense and vivid and a total page-turner. -- Jenny Ashcroft on The Rose Garden
The Rose Garden is full of hope and infectious optimism - just the thing for now! -- Kate Griffin on The Rose Garden
The Rose Garden is a joy. Through its cast of memorable female characters, this novel sets the fight for justice against all the colour and optimism which is so characteristic of Tracy Rees' writing. -- Rebecca F John on The Rose Garden
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic -- Bestselling author Rosanna Ley
Tracy Rees writes from the heart -- Bestselling author Kathryn Hughes
Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down -- Karen Swan, internationally bestselling author
I absolutely loved it. With its compelling themes of female friendship and empowerment against all odds, The Rose Garden is a fascinating and compassionate story. The settings of well-to-do Hampstead and the poverty of Saffron Hill in Victorian England are both vividly evoked and the main characters of Mabs, Abigail, Ottilie and Olive are warm, authentic and engaging. I was completely immersed in the world of The Rose Garden from beginning to end. -- Rosanna Ley, author of The Orange Grove
The Rose Garden is an absolute joy. I was completely swept up in the lives of Olive, Otty, Mabs and Abigail. Against the backdrop of Victorian London, their story is one of friendship against the odds and of courage that transcends the rules of a flawed society. Written with elegance, charm and wisdom, this book is both unputdownable and unforgettable. -- Hazel Prior
I simply loved The Rose Garden. The setting of Victorian London has a Dickensian feel but, unlike Dickens, Tracy Rees peoples her city with a compelling cast of women characters battling poverty, class and gender inequality. The voice of poor but sparky Mabs will remain with me for a long time - she is a terrific creation. -- Liz Trenow, author of The Secrets of the Lake
The Rose Garden is full of heart and a rich, lively cast of characters who transport the reader straight into its Victorian world. Gorgeous. -- Eve Chase, author of The Glass House
Tracy is a very skilled storyteller who weaves the vivid strands of her story together against a rich historical background. THE ROSE GARDEN has buckets of atmosphere and a cast of beautifully drawn characters. -- Jane Johnson

About Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor, was the first winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition. She has also won the Love Stories Best Historical Read award and been shortlisted for the RNA Epic Romantic Novel of the Year. A Cambridge graduate, Tracy had a successful career in non-fiction publishing before retraining for a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She has also been a waitress, bartender, shop assistant, estate agent, classroom assistant and workshop leader. Tracy divides her time between the Gower Peninsula of South Wales and London.

Additional information

GOR011682665
9781529046373
1529046378
The Rose Garden by Tracy Rees
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Pan Macmillan
20210902
432
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Rose Garden