Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The Dragonbone Chair Tad Williams

The Dragonbone Chair By Tad Williams

The Dragonbone Chair by Tad Williams

New RRP £12.99
Condition - Very Good
<20 in stock


The beloved first novel in Tad Williams' classic fantasy series MEMORY, SORROW AND THORN, set in the fantasy world of Osten Ard.

The Dragonbone Chair Summary

The Dragonbone Chair: Memory, Sorrow & Thorn Book 1 by Tad Williams

Kitchen-boy Simon is bored, restless and fourteen years old - a dangerous combination. It seems, however, that his life has just taken a turn for the better when he's apprenticed to his castle's resident wizard. As Simon's learning to read and write under Doctor Morgenes' tutelage, forces greater than he could possible imagine are gathering: forces which will change Simon's life - and his world - forever.

Following the death of Good King John, Osten Ard is plunged into civil war as his sons battle for control of the fabled Dragonbone Chair - the country's throne as well as the symbol of its power. Simon is forced to flee the only home he has ever known, a journey which will test him beyond his worst nightmares.

With THE DRAGONBONE CHAIR, Tad Williams introduced readers to the incredible fantasy world of Osten Ard and kicked off the beloved, internationally bestselling series Memory, Sorrow and Thorn.

The Dragonbone Chair Reviews

Williams has begun a well-written, colourfully characterized and very readable saga * Publishers Weekly *
The fantasy equivalent of war and peace * Locus *
Without doubt on of the best fantasy novels I have read * Vector *
A solid story spiced with political intrigue and strong, appealing heroes. Highly recommended * Library Journal *
Williams is our Tolkien, and I suspect his coronation will be confirmed * Fear *
[A] truly remarkable piece of storytelling . . . a glorious work or art * Starburst *
One of my favourite fantasy series -- George R. R. Martin, author of A Game of Thrones
One of the main reasons I started writing fantasy . . . Tad Williams' work is an essential part of any science fiction and fantasy library -- Christopher Paolini, author of the Inheritance Cycle series
Ground-breaking . . . changed how people thought of the genre and paved the way for so much modern fantasy, including mine -- Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Kingkiller Chronicle

About Tad Williams

Tad Williams is a California-based fantasy superstar. His genre-creating (and genre-busting) books have sold tens of millions worldwide, in twenty-five languages. His considerable output of epic fantasy and science fiction book-series, stories of all kinds, urban fantasy novels, comics, scripts, etc., have strongly influenced a generation of writers: the Otherland epic now plays as an MMO on Tad is currently immersed in the creation of The Last King of Osten Ard, planned as a trilogy with two intermediary novels. He, his family and his animals live in the Santa Cruz mountains in a suitably strange and beautiful house. @tadwilliams @mrstad

Additional information

The Dragonbone Chair: Memory, Sorrow & Thorn Book 1 by Tad Williams
Used - Very Good
Hodder & Stoughton
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Dragonbone Chair