Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands Sarah Brooks

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands By Sarah Brooks

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands by Sarah Brooks


£14.09
New RRP £16.99
Condition - New
40+ in stock

Summary

The Great Trans-Siberian Express comes to life in a novel of wild imagination, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel and The Night Circus

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands Summary

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands: Be transported by the most exciting debut of 2024 by Sarah Brooks

A breathtaking historical fantasy set onboard the Great Trans-Siberian Express, perfect for fans of Piranesi, Babel, The Night Circus and Jessie Burton - available to preorder now!
'I was completely transported by this book . . . I urge everybody to pick up a copy' STUART TURTON

'Breathtaking . . . Abounding with mysteries and marvels
' SAMANTHA SHANNON

'Exceptional. Strange, addictive, immersive, it's a steampunk Piranesi meets His Dark Materials
' JENNIE GODFREY

'Wild and wonderful . . . completely captivating' JENNIFER SAINT

'Mysterious and clever and brilliant' NATASHA PULLEY


It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket.

It is the end of the nineteenth century and the world is awash with marvels. But there is nothing so marvellous as the Wastelands: a terrain of terrible miracles that lies between Beijing and Moscow.

Nothing touches the Wastelands except the Great Trans-Siberian Express: an impenetrable train built to carry cargo across continents, but which now transports anyone who dares.

Onto the platform steps a curious cast of characters: Marya, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Weiwei, a famous child born on the train; and Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist.

But there are whispers that the train isn't safe. As secrets and stories begin to unravel, the passengers and crew must survive their journey together, even as something uncontrollable seems to be breaking in . . .

The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands Reviews

I was completely transported by this book, lost in its world and mysteries, astounded by its beauty, and full of admiration for its humanity. I loved every second I spent with it, and urge everybody to pick up a copy. It's an astonishing journey -- STUART TURTON, bestselling author of THE SEVEN DEATHS OF EVELYN HARDCASTLE
A journey both unnerving and powerful, which thunders along at breathtaking speed, abounding with mysteries and marvels. Be warned - once you step into The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands, you'll never want to disembark -- Samantha Shannon, author of THE BONE SEASON
This is a wild and wonderful journey; gloriously imaginative and completely captivating. Rich in allure, intrigue and suspense, it's a ride that readers will never want to end -- Jennifer Saint, #1 bestselling author of ARIADNE
The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wasteland is mysterious and clever and brilliant -- NATASHA PULLEY, bestselling author of THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET
Exceptional. Strange, addictive, immersive, it's a steampunk Piranesi meets His Dark Materials -- Jennie Godfrey, author of THE LIST OF SUSPICIOUS THINGS
I hugely enjoyed The Cautious Traveller's Guide to the Wastelands; it's like a steampunk Solaris -- LAWRENCE NORFOLK, author of JOHN SATURNALLS FEAST
Asks us to reconsider our place within the natural world amid a backdrop of capitalism and empire. . . thrilling and transcendent -- RITA CHANG-EPPIG, author of DEEP AS THE SKY, RED AS THE SEA
Richly imaginative, profoundly allegorical, and utterly propulsive, I loved THE CAUTIOUS TRAVELLER'S GUIDE TO THE WASTELANDS. With impeccable pacing and elegant storytelling, this novel is pure delight. Though all on the same train, each character takes a different journey and it is most marvellous to join in as they travel the Wastelands to reach their final destinations. Bravo! All aboard for a captivating and transformative adventure! -- MELISSA FU, author of PEACH BLOSSOM SPRING
A spellbindingly original and totally engrossing book; I so much want to ride that train! -- SHARON BOLTON, author of THE FAKE WIFE
I loved this book . . . deserves to become an instant classic -- EMMA KAVANAGH, author of TO CATCH A KILLER

About Sarah Brooks

Sarah Brooks won the Lucy Cavendish Prize in 2019. She works in East Asian Studies at the University of Leeds where she also helps run the Leeds Centre for New Chinese Writing. She has a PhD on monsters in classical Chinese ghost stories. She is also co-editor of Samovar, a bilingual online magazine for translated speculative fiction. Originally from Lancashire, she now lives in Leeds.

Additional information

NGR9781399607537
9781399607537
1399607537
The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands: Be transported by the most exciting debut of 2024 by Sarah Brooks
New
Hardback
Orion Publishing Co
2024-06-20
384
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - The Cautious Traveller's Guide to The Wastelands