Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Girl from the Island By Lorna Cook

The Girl from the Island by Lorna Cook

New RRP £7.99
Condition - Like New
£3.49
Only 1 left

Summary

Pre-order your copy now: the emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise

______________

The Girl from the Island Summary

The Girl from the Island by Lorna Cook

Pre-order your copy now: the emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise

______________

'A book to get lost in... Love, suspense and a page-turning story' Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy bestselling author

A world at war.
One woman will risk everything.
Another will uncover her story.

1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep - a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.

2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy's search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.

A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

Praise for The Girl from the Island

'Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII' Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife

'With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan

'A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey's past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way' Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea

'A sweeping tale of love and courage, The Girl from the Island is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it' Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

The Girl from the Island Reviews

Praise for Lorna Cook's novels:

'I was so absorbed I read it in a single day' Kate Riordan

'Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist' Jenny Ashcroft

'An intriguing mystery' Gill Paul

'Kept me turning the pages eagerly' Tracy Rees

'Entrancing, evocative and romantic' Woman's Weekly

'Full of twists and turns' Nikola Scott

'Hugely likeable characters and a corker of a twist!' Mandy Robotham

About Lorna Cook

LORNA COOK is the author of the Kindle #1 bestseller The Forgotten Village. It was her debut novel and the recipient of the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers. Lorna lives in coastal South East England with her husband, daughters and a Staffy named Socks. A former journalist and publicist, she owns more cookery books than one woman should, but barely gets time to cook.

Additional information

GOR011381452
9780008379063
0008379068
The Girl from the Island by Lorna Cook
Used - Like New
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2021-04-01
400
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Girl from the Island