Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The Little Wartime Library Kate Thompson

The Little Wartime Library By Kate Thompson

The Little Wartime Library by Kate Thompson


£15.99
New RRP £19.99
Condition - New
Only 2 left

Summary

A gripping and heart-wrenching novel set in London in World War Two, following the two women who run a secret underground library

The Little Wartime Library Summary

The Little Wartime Library: A gripping, heart-wrenching page-turner based on real events by Kate Thompson

'A splendid warm-hearted novel' - Rachel Hore

London, 1944.

Clara Button is no ordinary librarian. While the world remains at war, in East London Clara has created the country's only underground library, built over the tracks in the disused Bethnal Green tube station. Down here a secret community thrives: with thousands of bunk beds, a nursery, a cafe and a theatre offering shelter, solace and escape from the bombs that fall above.

Along with her glamorous best friend and library assistant Ruby Munroe, Clara ensures the library is the beating heart of life underground. But as the war drags on, the women's determination to remain strong in the face of adversity is tested to the limits when it seems it may come at the price of keeping those closest to them alive.

Based on true events, The Little Wartime Library is a gripping and heart-wrenching page-turner that remembers one of the greatest resistance stories of the war.

The Little Wartime Library Reviews

A heartwarming story of how friendship and the written word sustain us in the toughest times. Based on a little-known true story, Kate Thompson's meticulous research and love of libraries shine through. Perfect for fans of Dear Mrs. Bird. * Janet Skeslien Charles, author of The Paris Library *
Gripping, emotional and uplifting * Gill Paul *
A captivating tale about the power of libraries and how they connect us . . . Meticulously researched, readers will be entranced by this fascinating slice of history * Andie Newton, USA Today bestselling author of The Girls from the Beach *
I was totally immersed in The Little Wartime Library. Kate has such a talent for bringing history to vivid life. Utterly transporting, vivid and fresh. * Iona Grey, bestselling author of Letters to the Lost *
Books help win the day in this splendid warm-hearted novel of wartime resilience and romance, based on a true story * Rachel Hore, bestselling author of A Beautiful Spy *
Remarkable . . . Heartbreaking and inspiring, this brilliantly researched book also captures the essence of the story through its evocative words and thoughtfully written characters * My Weekly *
A perfect wartime tale of hope against the odds * My Weekly *

About Kate Thompson

Kate Thompson an award-winning journalist, ghostwriter and novelist who has spent the past two decades in the UK mass market and book publishing industry. Over the past eight years Kate has written eleven fiction and non-fiction titles, three of which have made the Sunday Times top ten bestseller list.

Additional information

NGR9781529348712
9781529348712
1529348714
The Little Wartime Library: A gripping, heart-wrenching page-turner based on real events by Kate Thompson
New
Hardback
Hodder & Stoughton
2022-02-17
496
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - The Little Wartime Library