Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in the UK
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Vanishing Box By Elly Griffiths

The Vanishing Box by Elly Griffiths

New RRP £8.99
Condition - Very Good
£3.79
<40 in stock

Summary

The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series, for fans of Christopher Fowler's Bryant & May books

The Vanishing Box Summary

The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries 4 by Elly Griffiths

The fourth Stephens and Mephisto mystery from the author of the bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series - a must-read for fans of Bryant and May. 'Mixes cosiness and sharpness in a way that recalls the best of Agatha Christie' Sunday Express (on Smoke and Mirrors)

What do a murdered Brighton flower seller, the death of Cleopatra and a nude tableau show have in common? Read the most dangerous case yet for Stephens and Mephisto to find out.

Christmas 1953. Max Mephisto and his daughter Ruby are headlining Brighton Hippodrome, an achievement only slightly marred by the less-than-savoury support act: a tableau show of naked 'living statues'. This might appear to have nothing in common with DI Edgar Stephens' current case of the death of a quiet flowerseller, but if there's one thing the old comrades have learned it's that, in Brighton, the line between art and life - and death - is all too easily blurred...

The Vanishing Box Reviews

Vivid description, masterful sleight of hand and a lightness of touch add up to a terrific read for aficionados and newcomers alike * Guardian *
This series is without fail engaging and entertaining and The Vanishing Box is no exception ... I could almost smell the greasepaint and see the flutter of feathers ... Loved it! * Crimewarp *
Griffiths manages to juggle humour, homicide and nostalgia in a delightful read * The Times *
[Griffiths] weaves a fascinating tale. And, like all good mysteries, some surprising revelations along the way with a delicious twist at the end. Highly recommended * Promoting Crime Fiction *

About Elly Griffiths

Elly Griffiths was born in London. She worked in publishing before becoming a full-time writer. Her bestselling series of Dr Ruth Galloway novels, featuring a forensic archaeologist, are set in Norfolk. The series has won the CWA Dagger in the Library, and has been shortlisted three times for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Her Brighton-based mystery series is set in the 1950s and 1960s. Elly has also written two mysteries featuring Detective Harbinder Kaur, The Stranger Diaries, which was a Richard & Judy bestseller and won America's most coveted accolade for crime fiction, the Edgar Award, and The Postscript Murders. Elly lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist, and their cat, Gus.

Additional information

GOR009614786
9781784297022
178429702X
The Vanishing Box: The Brighton Mysteries 4 by Elly Griffiths
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Quercus Publishing
2018-11-01
368
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Vanishing Box