Cart
Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

Lessons in Chemistry Bonnie Garmus

Lessons in Chemistry By Bonnie Garmus

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus


£5.30
New RRP £13.99
Condition - Good
Only 1 left

Lessons in Chemistry Summary

Lessons in Chemistry: The Sunday Times bestseller, BBC Between the covers and Radio Two book club pick by Bonnie Garmus

STYLIST MAGAZINE'S 'FICTION BOOKS YOU CAN'T MISS IN 2022'
OBSERVER'S 'TEN DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022'
SOON TO BE ON BBC2's 'BETWEEN THE COVERS' WITH SARA COX

'Sparky, rip-roaring, funny, with big-hearted fully formed, loveable characters' SUNDAY TIMES

'The most charming, life-enhancing novel I've read in ages. A perfect delight' INDIA KNIGHT

'Laugh-out-loud funny and brimming with life, generosity and courage'
RACHEL JOYCE

'A novel that sparks joy with every page' ELIZABETH DAY
____________
Your ability to change everything - including yourself - starts here

Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing.

But it's the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute take a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans, the lonely, brilliant, Nobel-prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with - of all things - her mind. True chemistry results.

Like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later, Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America's most beloved cooking show, Supper at Six. Elizabeth's unusual approach to cooking ('combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride') proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn't just teaching women to cook. She's daring them to change the status quo.
__________
SOON TO BE A MAJOR APPLE TV SERIAL


'I loved Lessons in Chemistry and am devastated to have finished it!'
NIGELLA LAWSON

'Elizabeth Zott is an iconic heroine - a feminist who refuses to be quashed, a mother who believes that her child is a person to behold, rather than to mould, and who will leave you, and the lens through which you see the world, quite changed'
PANDORA SYKES

'It's the world versus Elizabeth Zott, and I had no trouble choosing a side. A page-turning and highly satisfying tale: zippy, zesty, and Zotty' MAGGIE SHIPSTEAD, author of GREAT CIRCLE

Lessons in Chemistry Reviews

The most charming, life-enhancing novel I've read in ages. A perfect delight. It's about Elizabeth Zott, a scientist who accidentally becomes a TV cook in the early 1960s. Very strongly recommend * INDIA KNIGHT, SUNDAY TIMES *
This triumphant feminist fable, wittily observed, is teeming with vivid comic set-pieces * TELEGRAPH, Fiction of the Week *
Polished, funny, thought-provoking. Wearing its research lightly but confidently with sentences so stylishly turned it's hard to believe it's a debut ... The real pleasure is in the dry wit of Garmus's writing * GUARDIAN, Book of the day *
Not only is Elizabeth an unforgettable character, so too are her adorable dog Six Thirty and daughter, Mad. This is a truly unique book with some great life lessons * WOMAN AND HOME, Book of the Month *
A book that sparks joy with every page. LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY is both funny and rousing: it had me laughing one minute and air-punching the next. Bonnie Garmus has created an unforgettable heroine * ELIZABETH DAY *
It's the world versus Elizabeth Zott, an extraordinary woman determined to live on her own terms, and I had no trouble choosing a side. Lessons in Chemistry is a page-turning and highly satisfying tale: zippy, zesty, and Zotty * MAGGIE SHIPSTEAD, author of GREAT CIRCLE *
Full of humour heartbreak and characters who feel like real people. This is a book that everyone will be talking about * RED MAGAZINE *
I haven't loved a character as much as the hero of this joyful, warm debut in a very long time * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, Book of the Month *
A transporting read, recommended for fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs Maisel * STYLIST MAGAZINE, BOOKS TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2022 *
In Garmus' debut novel, a frustrated chemist finds herself at the helm of a cooking show that sparks a revolution. Welcome to the 1960s, where a woman's arsenal of tools was often limited to the kitchen - and where Elizabeth Zott is hellbent on overturning the status quo one meal at a time * NEW YORK TIMES *
A truly unique book with some great life lessons * WOMAN AND HOME, BEST BOOKS OF 2022 *
A fast-moving plot, zippy dialogue and wry sense of humour. A satisfying story with hateable villains and loveable good guys. Garmus's sparkling writing is a breath of fresh air * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
Elizabeth Zott is the smart, fierce star of Garmus' witty debut. Brilliant * MAIL ON SUNDAY *
Lessons in Chemistry is a vibrant and original story of hope and staying true to yourself. Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant, and brimming with life and generosity and courage * RACHEL JOYCE *
A timeless book. Elizabeth Zott is an iconic heroine - a feminist who refuses to be quashed, a mother who believes that her child is a person to behold, rather than to mould, and who will leave you, and the lens through which you see the world, quite changed * PANDORA SYKES *

Entirely enjoyable, totally engrossing novel, Garmus' beautifully drawn characters, her polished, engaging prose and a hugely satisfying plot make for a glorious read.
Lessons In Chemistry is alight with warmth, wit and hard-won wisdom. Absolutely wonderful

* DAILY EXPRESS *
Original and refreshing. Elizabeth Zott is one of those singular, unforgettable characters you don't come across enough in fiction. Witty and dark, it is both a breath of fresh air and a reminder of how much still has to change for true equality * PRESS ASSOCIATION *
Zott is a brilliantly realised character whom it's impossible not to love...[a] warm and addictive novel which cleverly and entertainingly unpacks the thorny questions around women's empowerment, the need to be true to oneself and why we should refuse to accept the limitations others try to impose on us. A triumph * DAILY MAIL *
Smart, funny, big-hearted * SUNDAY TIMES *
A fabulous novel. Compelling, satisfying, a real page-turner * NINA STIBBE *
Witty, inspiring and a joy * I-NEWSPAPER *

Feminism is the catalyst that makes [Lessons in Chemistry] fizz like hydrochloric acid on limestone. Elizabeth Zott does not have 'moxie'; she has courage. She is not a 'girl boss' or a 'lady chemist'; she's a groundbreaker and an expert in abiogenesis. . . To file Elizabeth Zott among the pink razors of the book world is to miss the sharpness of Garmus's message. Lessons in Chemistry will make you wonder about all the real-life women born ahead of their time - women who were sidelined, ignored and worse because they weren't as resourceful, determined and lucky as Elizabeth Zott. She's a reminder of how far we've come, but also how far we still have to go

* NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW *
Original, fresh, tender, funny and warm. The story dances and swirls, captivating the reader from the first page. Elizabeth Zott is the most wonderful character. Just fantastic * SINEAD MORIARTY *
Lessons in Chemistry is a breath of fresh air - a witty, propulsive, and refreshingly hopeful novel populated with singular characters. This book is an utter delight - wry, warm and compulsively readable * CLAIRE LOMBARDO, author of THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD *
On par with Beth Harmon of The Queen's Gambit, Elizabeth Zott swept me away with her intellect, honesty, and unapologetic selfhood. Lessons in Chemistry is a story for all the smart girls who refuse to dumb themselves down despite a culture that demands otherwise. Though a creation of the 50s & 60s, Zott is a feminist icon for our time * RACHEL YODER, author of NIGHTBITCH *
Strikingly relevant. . . Darkly funny and poignant. . . Lessons in Chemistry's excellent experiment is quirky and heartwarming * THE ATLANTIC *
A funny, thought-provoking revenge story. Elizabeth Zott is ahead of her time. This is such a great book, everyone should read it! * SHAPARAK KHORSANDI *
A truly involving and uplifting book! Bonnie Garmus addresses serious topics with humour that is genuinely funny. I especially liked the dog. Mine only appears to know one word, which is 'supper', but there again she is a Labrador. I'm sure this is going to be a great success, and deserves to be * ANNE YOUNGSON, Costa Book Award-shortlisted author of MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM *
A proper page turner which really made me giggle. It's so dry. The humour has a gorgeous lightness of touch. I really enjoyed it * STEVE WRIGHT, BBC RADIO TWO BOOK CLUB *
Like a woman-centric Mad Men ... A witty and sharp dramedy about resilience and found families ... Readers won't be able to get enough of Elizabeth and her makeshift family. A story to return to again and again * BOOKPAGE *
This incredible novel has EVERYTHING - an unforgettable heroine, wry humour, love, family and bucketloads of optimism and female empowerment. It's WONDERFUL * HANNAH BECKERMAN *
An energetic debut ... A more adorable plea for rationalism and gender equality would be hard to find * KIRKUS (starred review) *
Indefatigable and formidable, Elizabeth pushes the bounds of how women and their work are perceived in this thoroughly engaging debut novel * BOOKLIST *
Bold, smart and often hilarious look at so-called women's work * REAL SIMPLE, US *
Charming and emboldening tale with a vintage sheen... A thoroughly entertaining and emboldened look at gender in the 1960s. A must read! * MAGIC RADIO, BOOK CLUB READ *
Garmus delivers an assured voice, an indelible heroine and relatable love stories * WASHINGTON POST *
Like a woman-centric Mad Men ... A witty and sharp dramedy about resilience and found familes. Readers won't be able to get enough of Elizabeth and her makeshift family. A story to return to again and again * BOOKPAGE *
A kicky debut, this book tackles feminism, resilience, and rationalism in a fun and refreshing way * BUZZFEED *
Elizabeth is a woman who challenges the norms of a woman in the 60s...her perseverance to succeed is enthralling. The fight to do what she really wants, and that alone, is one that'll have you rooting for her throughout * STYLIST *
Unforgettable ... Elizabeth Zott is intelligent, fearless, determined and utterly inspiring * CULTUREFLY *
Every bit as brilliant as everyone is saying. Funny, clever, full of heart and wonderful characters. I loved it * A J PEARCE *

About Bonnie Garmus

BONNIE GARMUS is a copywriter/creative director who has worked for a wide range of clients, focusing primarily on technology, medicine, and education. She is an open-water swimmer, a rower, and mother to two wonderful daughters. Most recently from Seattle, she currently lives in London with her husband and her dog, 99.

Additional information

GOR012206803
9780857528131
0857528130
Lessons in Chemistry: The Sunday Times bestseller, BBC Between the covers and Radio Two book club pick by Bonnie Garmus
Used - Good
Paperback
Transworld Publishers Ltd
20220405
400
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Lessons in Chemistry