Free Shipping in the UK
Proud to be B-Corp

The Yorkshire Shepherdess Amanda Owen

The Yorkshire Shepherdess By Amanda Owen

The Yorkshire Shepherdess by Amanda Owen

New RRP £16.99
Condition - Very Good
<20 in stock


A funny, heartwarming and inspiring true story of life as a shepherdess in one of the most remote and beautiful spots in England.

The Yorkshire Shepherdess Summary

The Yorkshire Shepherdess by Amanda Owen

Now a Sunday Times Top 10 bestseller.

Amanda Owen has been seen by millions on ITV's The Dales, living a life that has almost gone in today's modern world, a life ruled by the seasons and her animals. She is a farmer's wife and shepherdess, living alongside her husband Clive and seven children at Ravenseat, a 2000 acre sheep hill farm at the head of Swaledale in North Yorkshire. It's a challenging life but one she loves.

In The Yorkshire Shepherdess she describes how the rebellious girl from Huddersfield, who always wanted to be a shepherdess, achieved her dreams. Full of amusing anecdotes and unforgettable characters, the book takes us from fitting in with the locals to fitting in motherhood, from the demands of the livestock to the demands of raising a large family in such a rural backwater. Amanda also evokes the peace of winter, when they can be cut off by snow without electricity or running water, the happiness of spring and the lambing season, and the backbreaking tasks of summertime - haymaking and sheepshearing - inspiring us all to look at the countryside and those who work there with new appreciation.

About Amanda Owen

Amanda Owen grew up in Huddersfield but was inspired by the James Herriot books, amongst others, to work in farming. After learning her craft as a freelance shepherdess, cow milker and alpaca shearer, she settled down as a farmer's wife with her own flock of sheep at Ravenseat. Happily married and with seven children (so far), she wouldn't change a thing about her hectic but rewarding life.

Table of Contents

    • Introduction - i: Introduction
  • Chapter - 1: A Normal Childhood
  • Chapter - 2: Wild Oats and Wool Sacks
  • Chapter - 3: One Woman and Her Dog
  • Chapter - 4: Ravenseat Only
  • Chapter - 5: Hill Shepherdess
  • Chapter - 6: Married in My Riding Boots
  • Chapter - 7: Reuben Ready or Not!
  • Chapter - 8: Miles To Go
  • Chapter - 9: Edith On the Way
  • Chapter - 10: Our Little Flower
  • Chapter - 11: Clive's Big Break
  • Chapter - 12: Free-range Children
  • Chapter - 13: Sidney in the Snow
  • Chapter - 14: Annas Makes Seven
    • Acknowledgements - ii: Acknowledgements
    • Section - iii: List of Illustrations

Additional information

The Yorkshire Shepherdess by Amanda Owen
Used - Very Good
Pan Macmillan
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Yorkshire Shepherdess