Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
Proud to be B-Corp
Shake By Yvonne Roberts

Shake by Yvonne Roberts

Condition - Good
31,99 $
Only 1 left

Summary

If you weren't part of the sixties, read this. If you were, remind yourself. In the tradition of Trezza Azzopardi, Yvonne Roberts weaves a captivating tale.

Shake Summary

Shake by Yvonne Roberts

January 1967: stuck in a Welsh seaside town, seventeen-year-old Lily Tempest longs to break free. Her mother Melody's ambitions for her daughters are summed up in one word: marriage. But Lily would rather die first. Instead she goads her sisters into reaching for far more that they want for themselves -- with comic but also dark and dangerous results. As winter slides towards the summer of love however, Lily becomes increasingly aware that to leave will mean permanent exile.

Shake Reviews

'Do you remember the Swinging Sixties? If you do, you'll love Yvonne Roberts' witty novel Shake!' Prima, Aug 2004 -- Prima 20040801 'This is a comedy with dark undertones, and Roberts captures the mundanity of small-town life and the excitement of sexual awakening superbly' Observer, 26/6/05 -- Observer 20050626 'Heartbreaking, nostalgic and funny' Daily Express, 21/6/05 -- Daily Express 20050621 'Do you remember the Swinging Sixties? If you do, you'll love Yvonne Roberts' witty novel Shake!' Prima, Aug 2004 -- Prima 20040801 'This is a comedy with dark undertones, and Roberts captures the mundanity of small-town life and the excitement of sexual awakening superbly' Observer, 26/6/05 -- Observer 20050626 'Heartbreaking, nostalgic and funny' Daily Express, 21/6/05 -- Daily Express 20050621

About Yvonne Roberts

Yvonne Roberts grew up in Pakistan in the 1950s. She won the Young Journalist of the Year Award in 1971, and has since worked in television and for several newspapers including The Sunday Times, the Observer and the Guardian.

Additional information

GOR003950413
9780755301089
0755301080
Shake by Yvonne Roberts
Used - Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
20050606
416
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Shake