Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
Proud to be B-Corp
The Orphan of Ironbridge By Mollie Walton

The Orphan of Ironbridge by Mollie Walton

Condition - Very Good
$16.49
<20 in stock

Summary

She works as a pit girl at the local coal mines, alongside her childhood playfellow, Evan - although lately, their friendship seems to be blossoming into something more. But when Queenie King from up at the big house takes a fancy to her, Hettie's life is transformed.

The Orphan of Ironbridge Summary

The Orphan of Ironbridge by Mollie Walton

A dramatic and heartwarming Victorian saga, perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Anne Bennett. Shropshire, 1875. Hettie Jones has grown up in Ironbridge. She has never known her father and, since her mother's death, has been brought up by the Malone family, who treat her as one of their own. She works as a pit girl at the local coal mine, alongside her childhood playfellow, Evan - although lately, their friendship seems to be blossoming into something more. But when Queenie King takes a fancy to her, Hettie's life is transformed. Trained first as a lady's maid, and then hurtled into a world of luxury and gentility, she finds her new position difficult to reconcile with her past life. And with Queenie's daughter-in-law scheming against her, Hettie's situation becomes dire. Can Hettie really use her new position for good, and will she find a way to bridge the divide between rich and poor? 'A compelling blend of real history, rich period detail, and a gritty, authentic story brimming with love, loss, intrigue, hope, and bitter revenge, The Orphan of Ironbridge delivers a dramatic final chapter to this exciting trilogy.' Lancashire Evening Post Praise for The Daughters of Ironbridge: 'A Journey. Compelling. Addictive.' Val Wood 'Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it' Miranda Dickinson 'Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read' Cathy Bramley 'The Daughters of Ironbridge has that compulsive, page-turning quality, irresistible characters the reader gets hugely invested in, and Walton has created a brilliantly alive, vivid and breathing world in Ironbridge' Louisa Treger 'Such great characters who will stay with me for a long time' Beth Miller 'The attention to period detail and beautiful writing drew me right in and kept me reading' Lynne Francis 'Vivid, page-turning drama' Pippa Beecheno 'A powerful sense of place and period, compelling characters and a pacy plot had me racing to the end' Gill Paul 'A story that is vivid, twisting and pacy, with characters that absolutely leap off the page' Iona Grey 'Beautiful and poignant. I'll definitely be reading The Secrets of Ironbridge' Tania Crosse

The Orphan of Ironbridge Reviews

An addictive, heart-warming book, with an unputdownable plot. I didn't want it to end * Dinah Jefferies, on The Secrets of Ironbridge *
A Journey. Compelling. Addictive * Val Wood, on The Daughters of Ironbridge *
Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read * Cathy Bramley on The Daughters of Ironbridge *
Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it * Miranda Dickinson, on The Daughters of Ironbridge *
A compelling blend of real history, rich period detail, and a gritty, authentic story brimming with love, loss, intrigue, hope, and bitter revenge. * Lancashire Evening Post *

About Mollie Walton

Mollie Walton has always been fascinated by history and on a trip to Shropshire, while gazing down from the iron bridge, found the inspiration for her debut saga novel, The Daughters of Ironbridge.

Additional information

GOR011473590
9781838773144
1838773142
The Orphan of Ironbridge by Mollie Walton
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Bonnier Zaffre
20210415
448
null null null null null null null null null null
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Orphan of Ironbridge