Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

A History of British Serial Killing Martin Fido

A History of British Serial Killing By Martin Fido

A History of British Serial Killing by Martin Fido

Condition - Very Good
Only 3 left

A History of British Serial Killing Summary

A History of British Serial Killing by Martin Fido

This is the history of British serial killers. It begins in the East End of London in 1888 with the Whitechapel Murders of "Jack the Ripper", and goes on to record five other cases of British multiple killers, bringing us up to the present day. In addition, linking sections cover other serial killers, to build up a complete history of these horrific crimes. As well as documenting the crimes and the criminal investigations that led to the eventual capture of these British multiple murderers, the development of forensic science in relation to these cases is explored. Experts reveal how modern psychological profiling techniques can provide a surprising number of details about a suspect, from the type of car they drive, to the clothes they wear. The police and media interviews with the killers who offer their reasons for their crimes are analysed and provide a fascinating insight into this aspect of detection. Not only does this book explore the motivation and madness behind the actions of the serial killer it also allows a unique insight into the minds of multiple murderers and those who attempt to stop them.

About Martin Fido

Martin Fido studied at Balliol College, Oxford before lecturing at the University of Leeds and Michigan State University. After leaving teaching, Martin returned to England and became a full-time writer and broadcaster, specializing in crime. Since 1987 he has written and narrated Murder After Midnight for LBC radio; he has also written and presented a documentary on Jack the Ripper for BBC's Timewatch. Among the books Martin has had published are The Jack the Ripper A-Z, Murders after Midnight. The Crimes Detection and Death of Jack the Ripper, the Murder Guide to London and The Krays: Unfinished Business. Martin is a former resident of Canterbury, Kent, and now lives in Massachusetts, USA.

Table of Contents

Introduction; Chapter 1: 'The First': Jack the Ripper; Link: 1888-1949; Chapter 2: Haigh - the Acid Bath Murderer; Link: 1920-1960; Chapter 3: Christie - 10 Rillington Place; Link: 1953-;1965; Chapter 4: The Moors Murderers; Link: 1966-1980; Chapter 5: Dennis Nilsen - Killing for Company?; Link: From Nilsen to the Wests; Chapter 6: Fred and Rosemary West and the 'House of Horror'; Conclusion; Index

Additional information

A History of British Serial Killing by Martin Fido
Used - Very Good
Welbeck Publishing Group
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - A History of British Serial Killing