Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Monsoon Summer Julia Gregson

Monsoon Summer By Julia Gregson

Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson


28,49 $
Condition - Like New
Only 1 left

Summary

From the bestselling author of the Richard and Judy Book Club reads, East of the Sun and Jasmine Nights, Julia Gregson returns with this compelling love story set in India - perfect for fans of Dinah Jeffries's The Tea Planter's Wife

Monsoon Summer Summary

Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson

Oxfordshire, 1947. Exhausted by the war and nursing a tragic secret, Kit Smallwood flees to Wickam Farm to recuperate. There she throws herself into helping Daisy set up a charity sending midwives to India.

Daisy's plan is fraught with danger. With newly-acquired Independence, many of India's people furiously resent the English for withdrawing so quickly, blaming them for the riots that left millions dead. When Kit meets Anto, a handsome, complicated but charming trainee doctor nearing the end of his English education, she falls utterly in love.

Anto makes her laugh and marriage should be the easiest thing in the world. But when he informs his family that he is shortly to return home with an English bride, his parents are appalled. Despite being Anglo-Indian herself, Kit's own mother is equally horrified. She has spent most of her life trying to erase a painful past and losing her daughter to an Indian man is her worst fear realized.

As they journey to a new life in India, Kit begins to realize the seriousness of what she has undertaken. Thrown into the heart of a traditional Indian family in a rapidly changing world, Kit has much to learn about the nature of home and the depth of her love for Anto.

Monsoon Summer Reviews

I adored this wonderful story. I loved the characters who leapt from the page and lived in my mind: I wept at the heart break, and my heart lifted at the hope and the joy. The depth of detail covering the life of an Indian family and the conflict between the two cultures was totally convincing. The big dramatic moments were terrific, but where it truly shone for me was in the small but telling moments when I felt as if I could see into the hearts and minds of the characters. I believed every word and from the moment I began reading I truly felt as if I was there. Astonishingly good -- Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE
Heartbreaking poignant lovestory set in post-war India * HEAT MAGAZINE *
Gregson draws on accounts of the experience of English midwives in India to weave a compelling tale of the complex ties of family, class and culture. * Booklist *
A sweeping romance between a young Indian doctor and a British midwife. * Good Housekeeping *
This engaging novel perfectly captures the last days of the Raj -- DAILY EXPRESS on EAST OF THE SUN
What a gorgeous read. Exciting, romantic, unpredictable and funny. I didn't want it to end. You'll crave curry for weeks. * Tracey Ullman on EAST OF THE SUN *
Exotic, decadent, dangerous and terrific storytelling * Fanny Blake, WOMAN & HOME on JASMINE NIGHTS *
A tenderly told and wonderfully evocative story -- DAILY EXPRESS on JASMINE NIGHTS
Lively, atmospheric novel ... the writing is skillful, vivid and explicit -- SUNDAY TELEGRAPH on THE WATER HORSE
A wonderful evocation of the rugged Welsh coastline and Catherine's home life -- HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW on THE WATER HORSE

About Julia Gregson

Julia Gregson's novel EAST OF THE SUN was chosen for the Richard and Judy TV Book Club and became a Sunday Times bestseller in the UK. Previously a journalist for the Sydney Morning Herald, The Times, Good Housekeeping, and Rolling Stone in the USA, Julia is married and lives in Monmouth. To find out more about Julia and her books, visit her website www.juliagregson.net or follow her on Twitter at @juliagregson

Additional information

GOR007798791
9781409108122
1409108120
Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson
Used - Like New
Hardback
Orion Publishing Co
2016-06-30
384
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Monsoon Summer