Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
Proud to be B-Corp
Where the Sea Breaks By John Prebble

Where the Sea Breaks by John Prebble

Condition - New
Only 2 left


John Prebble's classic first novel

Where the Sea Breaks Summary

Where the Sea Breaks by John Prebble

A German bomber crash-lands on a small Scottish island and the Nazi pilot, with his crew of three, seizes control of the place. Two guns are stripped from the wreckage; an inquisitive collie-dog is killed; a young man is shot dead beside his radio . . . and 'martial law' is declared.

As thundering seas cut off the island from the mainland, John Prebble works out this wartime story to its terrifying climax. Methodically, brutally the Nazi officer shapes his plans; dumbly, sullenly the Scottish folk hold out and bide their time.

Whose nerves will be the first to crack?

About John Prebble

John Prebble was a journalist, novelist, documentarian and historian. He was born in England but his family moved to Canada following WWI, later returning to England where Prebble was educated at Latymer School.

Prebble began his writing life as a journalist in 1934, and drew on his experiences as an artilleryman in WWII when he wrote his first novel, Where the Sea Breaks, published in 1944. He joined the Communist Party of Great Britain, but abandoned it after World War II. His Canadian prairie experience also influenced his work: The Buffalo Soldier is a historical novel about the American West.

Scottish history formed the subject of many of Prebble's subsequent novels. His Fire and Sword Trilogy, focused on the fall of the clan system in 17th Century Scotland. Culloden was the first book, chronicling the defeat of the clans in one pivotal battle. The second book of the trilogy, The Highland Clearances (1963), remains one of Prebble's best known works because the subject matter is still one of great historical debate. Glencoe (1966), the final book, was a study of the causes and effects of the Glencoe massacre of 1692. His later works, Mutiny (1975) and The King's Jaunt (1988) extended the theme.

Prebble also co-wrote the screenplay of the film Zulu, as well as radio dramas and documentaries. He was awarded an OBE in 1998, just three years before his death.

Additional information

Where the Sea Breaks by John Prebble
Pan Macmillan
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - Where the Sea Breaks