Cart
Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

A Man Called Ove Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove By Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman


$29.49
Condition - Like New
Only 1 left

Summary

The international phenomenon: quirky and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet outrageously funny. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Jonas Jonasson's The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared.

A Man Called Ove Summary

A Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will brighten your day by Fredrik Backman

Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine; Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove is one of the best-loved and most life-affirming novels of the decade.

This multi-million-copy phenomenon is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible . . .

A Man Called Ove Reviews

Delightful ... the perfect holiday read. * Evening Standard *
It's the most enchanting, beautiful tale. -- Ben Fogle
A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish. -- Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods
An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places. * Sunday Express *
A charming debut. * People *
A Man Called Ove is a wonderful novel that will stay with you . . . Ove's story has an underlying sadness which the author tackles with great warmth and humour . . . It's a bittersweet, heart-warming tale which will leave listeners with a restored faith in the power of friendship and perhaps even a love for cats. * Psychologies Magazine *
Hilarious and heart-breaking. * Stylist *
It's warm, funny, and ultimately almost unbearably moving. * Daily Mail *
The most charming book you'll read this year ... This charming debut novel by Backman should find a ready audience with English-language readers . . . hysterically funny . . . wry descriptions, excellent pacing . . . In the contest of Most Winning Combination, it would be hard to beat grumpy Ove and his hidden, generous heart. * Kirkus *
My absolute summer-reading must is A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman: perfect beach reading for a grumpy old man. It has all the minimalist delicacy of Stoner, but with a delicious wry wit. The book works on a very small scale, yet it sweeps through intense life dramas, all the while remaining funny, moving, uplifting...and a cracking good tale. -- Rodney Bolt, author of As Good as God, as Clever as the Devil: The Impossible Life of Mary Benson
There is a method to the madness - by the end of this funny and touching book, you'll come round to Ove's way of thinking. * Mumsnet *
A Man Called Ove finally rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it. Crotchety old git Ove argues with neighbours, reluctantly inherits a cat, punches a clown and, by the end of the book, has you wanting to hug him. * Spectator BOOKS OF THE YEAR *
Ove will upset us, cause us to be upset on his behalf and make us laugh till we daren't drink fluids and read simultaneously but by the end we're uplifted and don't want to go. * Bookbag *
A Man Called Ove is exquisite. The lyrical language is the confetti thrown liberally throughout this celebration-of-life story, adding sparkle and colour to an already spectacular party. Backman's characters feel so authentic that readers will likely find analogues living in their own neighbourhoods. * Shelf Awareness, starred review *
A funny crowd-pleaser that serves up laughs to accompany a thoughtful reflection on loss and love... The author writes with winning charm. * Publishers Weekly, starred review *
Readers seeking feel-good tales with a message will rave about the rantings of this solitary old man with a singular outlook. If there was an award for 'Most Charming Book of the Year,' this first novel by a Swedish blogger-turned-overnight-sensation would win hands down. * Booklist, starred review *

About Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A MAN CALLED OVE was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, MY GRANDMOTHER SENDS HER REGARDS AND APOLOGISES and BRITT-MARIE WAS HERE, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.

Additional information

GOR008556557
9781473670747
1473670748
A Man Called Ove: The life-affirming bestseller that will brighten your day by Fredrik Backman
Used - Like New
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
20170620
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - A Man Called Ove