Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire By Doris Lessing

The Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire by Doris Lessing

Condition - Good
$20.99
Only 1 left

Summary

From Doris Lessing, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, the fifth and final instalment in the visionary novel cycle 'Canopus in Argos: Archives'.

The Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire Summary

The Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire by Doris Lessing

From Doris Lessing, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, the fifth and final instalment in the visionary novel cycle 'Canopus in Argos: Archives'.

'The Sentimental Agents ...' is set in the declining Volyen Empire as the empires of Sirius and Shammat compete to overwhelm it with rhetoric and false sentiment. The Canopean Empire deploys covert agents to help the Volyens resist. But one of these agents, Incent, succumbs to 'Undulant Rhetoric', and Agent Klorathy must go to Volyen to help him see through the empty words that have beguiled him.

Once more employing alien races to identify human failings, Lessing uses social and political satire to show how we misuse speech (and speeches) and delude ourselves with self-aggrandizing notions about the primacy of emotion. Her renowned insight into human behaviour goes hand in hand here with a vein of humour that sees her writing in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift.

About Doris Lessing

Doris Lessing was one of the most important writers of the second half of the 20th-century and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature 2007. Her novels include The Grass is Singing, The Golden Notebookand The Good Terrorist. In 2001, Lessing was awarded the David Cohen Prize for a lifetime's achievement in British literature. In 2008, The Timesranked her fifth on a list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945". She died in 2013.

Additional information

GOR003091192
9780006547228
0006547222
The Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire by Doris Lessing
Used - Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
1994-05-23
224
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire