Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Not Knowing By Cathi Unsworth

The Not Knowing by Cathi Unsworth

Condition - Very Good
$15.49
Only 3 left

Summary

London, March 1992. Nearly a year after the release of Brit noir sensation, Bent, the capital is still in the grip of its cultural and stylistic impact. Diana Kemp, journalist on the alternative arts magazine Lux, is dismissive of the film's cult following but admires the technique of its debut director, Jon Jackson.

The Not Knowing Summary

The Not Knowing by Cathi Unsworth

London, March 1992. Nearly a year after the release of Brit noir sensation, Bent, the capital is still in the grip of its cultural and stylistic impact. Diana Kemp, journalist on the alternative arts magazine Lux, is dismissive of the film?s cult following but admires the technique of its debut director, Jon Jackson. In fact, some of her admiration has a more personal nature and when Jon disappears following a triumphant Guardian lecture, she feels the loss, acutely. Two weeks? later, Jackson?s body is found in a condemned lock-up in the arches behind Camden market. A victim of his own success? Perhaps - the murder site resembles the particularly bloody final scene of Bent. But why would anyone want to destroy the golden boy in such a way? Attempting to put a lid on the past, Diana buries herself in work. But an assignment, at the ICA?s Crimewave festival, leads her on a voyage of discovery where not knowing might be the only thing that saves her.

The Not Knowing Reviews

?The Not Knowing is gutters full of blood and moon, bodies and dreams, streets full of cries and whispers, secrets and lies - fiction every bit as fraught as the nightmares from whence it came? David Peace ?I haven?t been as excited by a new writer since I first read Ellroy or stumbled across the very first James Sallis? it?s like picking up the first novel of a master. She is that good and better, that dark? Ken Bruen ?Cathi Unsworth has long been an accomplished writer. With THE NOT KNOWING she weaves together all her passions; music, cultural journalism, hip London, crime novels and edgy films - to give us, in the tradition of Derek Raymond and Ken Bruen, angiographies of contemporary London and of lives gone all edge? James Sallis

About Cathi Unsworth

Cathi Unsworth began her journalistic career at 19 while still studying at the London College of Fashion. Headhunted by Melody Maker, she worked there as a freelance feature writer/reviewer for several years before joining Bizarre magazine. Her own writing is inspired by the late Derek Raymond, whom she met when she interviewed him for Melody Maker and who encouraged her to follow the crime-writing path. She is the editor of London Noir, a collection of London crime stories published by Serpent's Tail. Her debut novel, The Not Knowing, was published by Serpent's Tail in 2005 and her second novel, The Singer, will be published in 2007. She lives in London.

Additional information

GOR001482455
9781852428921
1852428929
The Not Knowing by Cathi Unsworth
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Profile Books Ltd
2005-08-25
288
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Not Knowing