Free Shipping in Australia
Proud to be B-Corp

Completing the Circle Anne Stevenson

Completing the Circle By Anne Stevenson

Completing the Circle by Anne Stevenson

Condition - Very Good
Only 1 left


Anne Stevenson was one of Britain's most distinguished poets. Completing the Circle is a swansong collection of moving elegies and celebrations written in her 80s. It was her third collection since her much praised Bloodaxe retrospective Poems 1955-2005, and follows two other late collections, Stone Milk (2007) and Astonishment (2012).

Completing the Circle Summary

Completing the Circle by Anne Stevenson

Anne Stevenson's Completing the Circle is a swansong collection of moving elegies and celebrations written in her 80s during the early decades of what she calls in her preface, 'a newly transformed, already terrifying century'. Most of these poems look back on her past from 'the viewpoint of a bewildered survivor facing up to the realities of time passing and beloved contemporaries dying'. In common with much of her work - and fittingly for this wide-ranging book of remembrance - she manages to maintain a tone that is serious without being funereal, acquiescent without indulging in confessional despair, keeping personal self-pity at bay with a characteristic detachment that can quietly slip into wit. The title-poem, while it owes a debt to Rilke, essentially expresses the poet's own long-considered belief that 'death naturally and rightly completes the cycle we recognise and accept as life'. Completing the Circle is Anne Stevenson's 16th collection, her third since her much praised Bloodaxe retrospective Poems 1955-2005. It follows two other late collections, Stone Milk (2007) and Astonishment (2012).

Completing the Circle Reviews

While Anne Stevenson is most certainly, and rightly, regarded as one of the major poets of our period, it has never been by virtue of this or that much anthologised poem, but by the work or mind as a whole. It is not so much a matter of the odd lightning-struck tree as of an entire landscape, and that landscape is always humane, intelligent and sane, composed of both natural and rational elements, and amply furnished with patches of wit and fury, which only serve to bring out the humanity. -- George Szirtes * London Magazine *
One of the most important poets active in England today... she presents us with a complex reality where an intently sensory world inhabited by wilful resistant people is overlaid by ghosts, ideas, and spectral emissions: the historical, philosophical, and scientific - all dimensions of what obviously isn't there and yet can't be denied. -- Emily Grosholz * Michigan Quarterly *

About Anne Stevenson

Anne Stevenson (1933-2020) was born in Cambridge, England, of American parents, and grew up in New England and Michigan. She studied music, European literature and history at the University of Michigan, returning later to read English and publishing the first critical study of Elizabeth Bishop. After several transatlantic switches, she settled in Britain in 1964, living in Cambridge, Scotland, Oxford, the Welsh Borders, and latterly in North Wales and Durham. She held many literary fellowships, and was the inaugural winner of Britain's biggest literary prize, the Northern Rock Foundation Writer's Award, in 2002. In 2007 she was awarded three major prizes in the USA: the $200,000 Lannan Lifetime Achievement Award for Poetry by the Lannan Foundation of Santa Fe, a Neglected Masters Award from the Poetry Foundation of Chicago and The Aiken Taylor Award in Modern American Poetry from The Sewanee Review in Tennessee. In 2008, The Library of America published Anne Stevenson: Selected Poems, edited by Andrew Motion, in conjunction with the Neglected Masters Award. This series is exclusively devoted to the greatest figures in American literature. Following two collections in the US in 1965 and 1969, she published her renowned family history sequence Correspondences, along with Travelling Behind Glass: Selected Poems 1963-1973, with Oxford University Press in 1974. After seven more books with OUP, she moved her publishing to Bloodaxe when OUP shut down its poetry list in 1999. In 2000 Bloodaxe reissued her OUP Collected Poems 1955-1995 at the same time as a new collection, Granny Scarecrow. These were followed by A Report from the Border (2003) and a new expanded retrospective, Poems 1955-2005 (2005), and then by three later collections, Stone Milk (2007), Astonishment (2012) and Completing the Circle (2020). As well as her numerous collections of poetry, Anne Stevenson published a biography of Sylvia Plath (1989), a book of essays, Between the Iceberg and the Ship (1998), and two critical studies of Elizabeth Bishop's work, most recently Five Looks at Elizabeth Bishop (Bloodaxe Books, 2006). In 2016 she gave the Newcastle/Bloodaxe Poetry Lectures, published by Bloodaxe in 2017 as About Poems and how poems are not about.

Table of Contents

9 Preface 13 Saying the World I 17 Anaesthesia 18 Poppy Day 20 Sandi Russell Sings 22 Defeating the Gloom Monster 25 A Dream of Guilt 26 Improvisation 28 Completing the Circle 29 Ann Arbor Days 31 The Day 32 Choose to be a Rainbow II 35 How Poems Arrive 36 Dover Beach Reconsidered 37 The Bully Thrush 39 Winter Idyll from My Back Window 40 Goodbye & Cheers 41 Shared 42 Voice Over 43 Candles 44 A Compensation of Sorts 46 Of Poetry and Wine 47 After Wittgenstein 48 Now We Are 80 52 Verses from a Waiting Room 53 An Old Poet's View from the Departure Platform III 56 As the Past Passes 57 The Gift Bowl 61 Pronunciation 68 Mississippi (1960s) 77 At 85 79 Acknowledgements

Additional information

Completing the Circle by Anne Stevenson
Used - Very Good
Bloodaxe Books Ltd
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Completing the Circle