Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11) By Ann Granger

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11) by Ann Granger

Condition - Very Good
$11.99
8 in stock

Summary

Call the Dead Again is the eleventh mystery in the gripping English village crime series by Ann Granger, combining intelligent plotting with warmth and humour

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11) Summary

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11): A gripping English Village mystery of murder and secrets by Ann Granger

Leading a double life can be deadly...

Lawyer Penhallow is found murdered in his garden the morning after Mitchell drops off a secretive hitchhiker to the property in Call the Dead Again, the eleventh compelling English village mystery in the Mitchell & Markby series by Ann Granger. The perfect read for fans of Colin Dexter, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

'A really good read - this novel comes highly recommended' - Crime Time

When Meredith Mitchell picks up a hitchhiker on a lonely road outside Bamford one evening she is left feeling distinctly uneasy. What business can this confident, yet secretive, young woman have at Tudor Lodge, the beautiful old home of Brussels-based lawyer Andrew Penhallow, where she asks to be dropped? Penhallow is constantly toing and froing from the Continent, but that night, unusually, he is at home, and - with his son away and his wife Carla in bed with a migraine - alone. Which is unfortunate, for the next morning he is found murdered in the garden.

To the vicarious delight of the locals, who are quick to recall old disputes, Penhallow's death results in some spectacular revelations about his double life - developments which make the murder investigation all the more delicate for Superintendent Markby, who knew the dead man as a young body. Andrew Penhallow certainly had ghosts in his past - has one come back to claim him?

What readers are saying about Call the Dead Again:

'So many twists and turns - kept me guessing until the very end'

'The mystery unravels nicely. Ann Granger provides genre fans with a fine entry to the Mitchell and Markby Cotswolds series'

'Ann Granger is an excellent mystery writer'

Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11) Reviews

'A really good read - this novel comes highly recommended' Crime Time

About Ann Granger

Ann Granger has lived in cities all over the world, since for many years she worked for the Foreign Office and received postings to British embassies as far apart as Munich and Lusaka. She is now permanently based in Oxfordshire.

Additional information

GOR000596249
9780747256427
074725642X
Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11): A gripping English Village mystery of murder and secrets by Ann Granger
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
1998-08-13
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11)