Warenkorb
Kostenloser Versand
Wir wollen bis 2022 klimaneutral sein

For the Benefit of Those Who See Rosemary Mahoney

For the Benefit of Those Who See von Rosemary Mahoney

For the Benefit of Those Who See Rosemary Mahoney


€18.99
Zustand - Sehr Gut
Nur noch 1

Zusammenfassung

The celebrated author of Down the Nile travels to Tibet and India as part of her investigation into the world of the blind.

For the Benefit of Those Who See Zusammenfassung

For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind Rosemary Mahoney

In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training centre for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world. Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Über Rosemary Mahoney

Rosemary Mahoney is the author of The Early Arrival of Dreams, a New York Times Notable Book; Whoredom in Kimmage, a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist; Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman's Skiff, a New York Times Notable Book; and two other books. She was a 2011 Guggenheim Fellow and is the recipient of a Whiting Writer's Award.

Zusätzliche Informationen

GOR011091669
9780316043427
0316043427
For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind Rosemary Mahoney
Gebraucht - Sehr Gut
Gebundene Ausgabe
Little, Brown & Company
20140114
304
N/A
Die Abbildung des Buches dient nur Illustrationszwecken, die tatsächliche Bindung, das Cover und die Auflage können sich davon unterscheiden.
Dies ist ein gebrauchtes Buch. Es wurde schon einmal gelesen und weist von der früheren Nutzung Gebrauchsspuren auf. Wir gehen davon aus, dass es im Großen und Ganzen in einem sehr guten Zustand ist. Sollten Sie jedoch nicht vollständig zufrieden sein, setzen Sie sich bitte mit uns in Verbindung.